ABR 10 - Unable to back up after installing software

Discussion in 'Other Acronis Products' started by shuckie, Jul 29, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. shuckie

shuckie Registered Member

Hello everyone

I've just installed ABR 10 for the first time. The user interface seemed quite intuitive and I was able to configure a backup plan without any problems. However, when I try to run the plan it fails immediately.

I am a domain admin with full access to this particular server, and I can't understand why the backup won't run. I had set up a custom plan with VSS and a couple of other options enabled. I tried reverting everything back to defaults except the logging option but still no luck.

I have saved a couple of error logs but am unable to upload them as they're in XML format which isn't supported. Is there an easy way of converting them to another format which I can upload?

Thanks

shuckie

2. Zimbobee

Zimbobee Registered Member

I've had similar problems with ABR10
    All components installed on a server, Agent deployed to workstation, central policy either failed to deploy or failed to run the task.
    Full domain admin rights and all neccessary user rights as per the manual.
    Just kept getting Logon failures due to incorrect rights.
    Finally, after much pain and arguing, I was told that there is an "internal" user that has to have rights to logon as a service. This is granted the correct rights at install BUT in a domain config the domain security policy will overwrite this!
    Also there are 2 windows services that need to be set to automatic, that the installation routine does not appear to do!
    These are the Volume Shadow Copy and Com+ System.

If only they would provide complete documentation it would make our lives so much easier!

3. shuckie

Hi Zimbobee

Thanks for your reply.