About McAfee 7.0 memory consumption!

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Firefighter, Apr 11, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Firefighter

    Firefighter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Posts:
    1,670
    Location:
    Finland
    Hi everyone. Does someone know if here are the all needed components to count the memory consumption of McAfee VirusScan 7.0 Professional without a Firewall?

    Avconsol.exe 464 kb
    Avsyncmgr.exe 544 kb
    Mcshield.exe 5 004 kb
    nvsc32.exe 188 kb   
    RuLaunch.exe 172 kb
    Vschwin32.exe 700 kb
    VSStat.exe 1 688 kb
    ---------------------------
    Total 8 760 kb

    If that's all, what happened to the resource hog McAfee Engine? My Engine is now 4.2.40, but it was a couple of months ago 4.1.60. Is that the cause to so low memory consumption? If so, the "old timer" gets a good step forward. When I counted RAV 8.6 104 memory consumption now, it was:

    ravtray8.exe 5 828 kb
    ravmon.exe 7 820 kb (counted before McAfee)
    ---------------------------
    Total 13 648 kb

    An other problem is still left with McAfee 7.0 Pro. I can't count more files from my PC than some 48 000, even DrWeb 4.29b is capable to count over 100 000. That 48 000 is less than NOD32 is capable to scan with best possible settings (over 60 000)!

    When McAfee is the second best unpacker engine, is it so that despite of that it is very poor archives
    scanner? o_O

    PS. My system is WinXP Home Finnish language version.

    "The truth is out there, but it hurts!"

    Best regards,
    Firefighter!
     
  2. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,312
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hi Firefighter,

    What method did you use to extract the numbers you´re adding up?
    And if you used Windows Taskmanager, which column(s)?

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  3. Firefighter

    Firefighter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Posts:
    1,670
    Location:
    Finland
    To Pieter_Arntz from Firefighter!

    If you mean those files what an av is capable to scan, I read simply the Report Panel summary report of every av-program's scans! It's my own KISS method (Keep It Simply Stupid)! :D

    Best Regards,
    Firefighter!
     
  4. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,312
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hi Firefighter,

    I meant the numbers quoted above.

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  5. Firefighter

    Firefighter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Posts:
    1,670
    Location:
    Finland
    To Pieter_Arntz from Firefighter!

    Because I have always used Finnish version of WinXP Home, it is better to tell which keys do I use.

    Ctrl+Alt+Delete and then I choose processes.

    After all this you can see the memory consumption in [kb]! :rolleyes:

    Best Regards,
    Firefighter!
     
  6. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,312
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hi Firefighter,

    Have a look at my screenshot.
    The first column is the one you probably used. The second column is the peek memory usage by that same application. As you can see there can be some significant differences.
    I´m not saying this is the case here, but maybe you should check, as you do like to take all the variables into consideration. ;)

    Regards,

    Pieter
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Tinribs

    Tinribs Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Posts:
    734
    Location:
    England
    You may have to choose the peak memory useage column as my xp didnt show it as default, I simply added it via View-Select Columns.

    :)
     
  8. Firefighter

    Firefighter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Posts:
    1,670
    Location:
    Finland
    To Pieter_Arntz and Tinribs from Firefighter!

    Now I got it. But there was very large delta (chance) in those programs.

    My main question was only that, if the new McAfee scanning engine 4.2.40 runs remarkable lower memory consumption as the older 4.1.60 one? :cool:

    Best Regards,
    Firefighter!
     
  9. Technodrome

    Technodrome Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,140
    Location:
    New York
    FF;

    I heard good things about McAfee's new engine. Myself, I never had any problems with McAfee VS! :cool:



    Technodrome
     
  10. Madsen DK

    Madsen DK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2002
    Posts:
    324
    Location:
    Denmark
    As Tech said.
    Engine 4240 is a great improvement over 4160.
    Especially on Win Me boxes.
    Scanning speed is also improved among other things.
    Regards Ole
     
  11. Firefighter

    Firefighter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Posts:
    1,670
    Location:
    Finland
    To Technodrome and you others from Firefighter!

    Is here someone who can tell me why McAfee is so poor to detecting files?

    Is the archives scanning capability still below the average? Have I done something wrong whith the definitions? o_O

    Best Regards,
    Firefighter!
     
  12. Vampirefo

    Vampirefo Guest

    Depend on your configurations, do you have McAfee set to scan every file? In the Advanced settings select All files instead of Default files, Enable heuristics scanning = macro and program files.

    Additional criteria for scanning select all three boxes.
     
  13. Technodrome

    Technodrome Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,140
    Location:
    New York
    You mean viruses? Poor? I don't think so.

    Could be settings. Mcafee comes close to KAV.


    Technodrome
     
  14. Firefighter

    Firefighter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Posts:
    1,670
    Location:
    Finland
    To Technodrome from Firefighter!

    I mean that the total number of scanned files (= 48 172, and boot sectors = 1) was below even that what NOD32 could scan.

    My scanning settings were,

    scan boot sectors
    compressed files
    all files

    and in the advanced section,

    enable heuristics scanning
    enable macro and program file heuristics scanning
    scan for potentially dangerous programs
    scan viruses in MIME/UUEncoded files
    Scan OLE objects

    Have I to give up this issue? o_O

    Best Regards,
    Firefighter!
     
  15. Vampirefo

    Vampirefo Guest

    Total number of scanned files, Doesn't mean anything, each AVP counts them different, for example one AVP may count a packed or compressed file as one file, another AVP may count every file in the compressed file, while Another AVP counts,may only count part of the compressed file.

    Counting and detecting or two different things, McAfee will find the Trojan, Virus or Mailware, if you have one.
     
  16. Firefighter

    Firefighter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Posts:
    1,670
    Location:
    Finland
    To Vampirefo from Firefighter!

    I think it is something like that. For example DrWeb and Kaspersky are counting the scanned files according to somewhat the same rules. That's all the files inside those opened archives.

    RAV is counting more files that there actually are inside those opened archives, some kind of subfiles inside certain filetypes. :eek: :rolleyes:

    Best Regards,
    Firefighter!
     
  17. notageek

    notageek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Posts:
    1,601
    Location:
    Ohio
    Am I messing something here or what? My McAfee 7.0 only loads Avconsol.exe, McShield.exe, Vshwin32.exe, VSStat.exe, Avsynmgr.exe and VsMain that's it. Plus there is 33 unscannable files. Anyone know the cause for 33 files not being able to be scanned?
     
  18. Firefighter

    Firefighter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Posts:
    1,670
    Location:
    Finland
    To Notageek from Firefighter!

    How did you come to that kind of result of those unscanned files? I'm just a bit of curious? :rolleyes:

    PS. Sorry, nvsvc32.exe is NVIDIA's file.

    Best Regards,
    Firefighter!
     
  19. notageek

    notageek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Posts:
    1,601
    Location:
    Ohio
    Hi Firefighter, Just open McAfee and click on advance, after that click "veiw VirusScan's activity log. Than click scan summary. All the way at the bottom is unscannable files. I have 33 for some odd reason.
     
  20. Firefighter

    Firefighter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Posts:
    1,670
    Location:
    Finland
    To Notageek from Firefighter!

    Thanks very much! I'm not very experienced to this McAfee, but now I got it.

    The total number of my PC's unscanned files with McAfee 7.0 were 845. :rolleyes:

    Best Regards,
    Firefighter!
     
  21. notageek

    notageek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Posts:
    1,601
    Location:
    Ohio
    Maybe someone can tel us why there is unscanned files when you scan with McAfee.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.