About 20 av-test made by av-test.org!

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Firefighter, Jan 30, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Firefighter

    Firefighter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Posts:
    1,670
    Location:
    Finland
    Hi everybody, does anyone know, when this av-test has made by av-test.org?

    http://antivirus.about.com/library/reviews/winscan/aabybavwin.htm

    It is interesting, that archive scanning capability had no importance in this test! :eek:


    "The truth is out there, but it hurts!"

    Regards,
    Firefighter!
     
  2. Technodrome

    Technodrome Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,140
    Location:
    New York
  3. Firefighter

    Firefighter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Posts:
    1,670
    Location:
    Finland
    To Technodrome from Firefighter!

    Thanks, you were right.

    I believed first that it was the test made by av-test.org 11/2002, but it hasn't been published yet? :cool:

    "The truth is out there, but it hurts!"

    Regards,
    Firefighter!
     
  4. Technodrome

    Technodrome Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,140
    Location:
    New York
    They are doing one of the biggest tests yet! Results should be published sometimes in March.
    Maybe the truth is there… :cool:



    Technodrome
     
  5. solarpowered candle

    solarpowered candle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    1,181
    Location:
    new zealand
    The AVK Beta seemed to do really well (eXtendia AntiVirus AVK) Has anyone tried this one out.
    http://www.boomerangsoftware.com/Products/AntiVirus/AVKProInfo.htm
     
  6. Smokey

    Smokey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Posts:
    1,513
    Location:
    Annie's Pub
    As we all should know, in an archive is NEVER bad stuff! :cool:
     
  7. I think that's the same as the product sold by MicroWorld. It failed the latest Virus Bulletin test.. (www.mwti.net)
     
  8. Firefighter

    Firefighter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Posts:
    1,670
    Location:
    Finland
    To Smokey from Firefighter!

    If archive scanning capability is only waste and unnecessary characteristic, why Kaspersky is capable to scan every archives, RAV, F-secure and Avast 4 almost all?

    Could it be so, that if you are burning large amount of files to one cd, which you are sending to an other person, it is much better to your reputation that the cd from you was absolutely clean?

    That's why DrWeb before NOD32 in my rankings! :rolleyes:

    "The truth is out there, but it hurts!"

    Regards,
    Firefighter!
     
  9. Technodrome

    Technodrome Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,140
    Location:
    New York
    This product is from GData (from Germany) and its called AVK Pro. It is a top notch AV product. AVK is using RAVs and KAVs engines. This is not 'Beta" version but released 12 version.

    And yes it received VB100 for 02/2003! ;)



    Technodrome
     
  10. Smokey

    Smokey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Posts:
    1,513
    Location:
    Annie's Pub
    Hi FireFighter!

    I was just a little bit joking.... :p :D
     
  11. Firefighter

    Firefighter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Posts:
    1,670
    Location:
    Finland
    To Technodrome from Firefighter!

    Do you know how clean result AVK Pro did in the latest VB 1/2003? :D


    "The truth is out there, but it hurts!"

    Regards,
    Firefighter!
     
  12. Technodrome

    Technodrome Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,140
    Location:
    New York
    Since I am not a subscriber to this magazine, I wouldn’t know. ;)


    Technodrome
     
  13. Firefighter

    Firefighter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Posts:
    1,670
    Location:
    Finland
    To Technodrome from Firefighter!

    Thanks to you for my 1. question.

    An other question, what is your opinion about that, if you have two backups, KAV and RAV, is it enough when you replace them both with AVK Pro 12, if I remember right, AVK Pro 12 is capable to scan all archives?

    Second question, is there any english language version of AVK Pro 12? :cool:

    "The truth is out there, but it hurts!"

    Regards,
    Firefighter!
     
  14. Technodrome

    Technodrome Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,140
    Location:
    New York
    I'd still recommend KAV or RAV alone.

    See this test for archive scan.
    http://www.heise.de/ct/02/13/176/tabelle.shtml

    See this test in for packer scan.
    http://members.lycos.co.uk/scheinsicherheit/scanner.htm

    AVK english version is available from: http://www.boomerangsoftware.com



    Technodrome
     
  15. Firefighter

    Firefighter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Posts:
    1,670
    Location:
    Finland
    To Technodrome from Firefighter!

    Thanks to you!

    My way of life is much simplier. If you can take the original, why not use it! :D


    "The truth is out there, but it hurts!"

    Best regards,
    Firefighter!
     
  16. Bob

    Bob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    49
    Hi,
    Has somebody actually used AVK from Boomrangsoftware.
    I asked them and you get it via a CD. I find it strange not to get it via internet downloads and they have to send the CD to the Netherlands.
    From where do you get the virus updates (Germany maybe?) and the other software updates?
    What I also see is that my Opera browser is not Wilders proof or is it the other way around.
    Bob
     
  17. solarpowered candle

    solarpowered candle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    1,181
    Location:
    new zealand
    Thankz Technodrome and I will be staying with my Kav
     
  18. WYBaugh

    WYBaugh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Posts:
    122
    Location:
    Florida
    Bob,

    I just ordered eXtendia AVK (which is the English version of GDATA) today and will let everyone know how it looks! Unfortunately they only ship the boxed product and have no demo...going out on a line here but the test results look very good for the product.

    Bill
     
  19. Concerning Extendia from Boomerang Software..

    I am trialing it now, without paying a penny..

    I emailed them and asked them if they have a trial.. They emailed me back the same day..

    It looks VERY nice! However, the scanner is slooowww, a- la Symantec...

    But the disinfection abilities are much better then NOD32... They are pretty much, automatic.. If you set the beta NOD32, however, you can pretty much do the same as Extendia, (I am not sure about zipped files)

    It's a matter of what you want.. The dual engines are cool..

    I emailed them a couple of questions I think any American would ask before buying this program...

    1. Do they have forum support? In English?

    2. Do they have a virus encyclopedia? In English? I found a German one, which is useless to me. Ja?

    3. Are the updates for a year? What does the software cost after that?
    I may call them. I actually don't live too far from their office...
     
  20. Ron_P

    Ron_P Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2002
    Posts:
    15
    $39.00, delivered from Massachusetts. I'm using it now. Knowing that KAV and RAV are watching is comforting :) It'll scan with one engine, the other, both (optomized), or both (dual - one after the other). I just set it up like KAV for speed (actually, the default monitor settings) and modified the on-demand to scan everything. If you exclude any folders with a lot of packed programs (like my "downloads" folder with 200 plus programs), you can actually run the monitor full bore and not really notice. I created a "download quarantine" folder for new downloads and once scanned as "clean", move them to a "download archive" folder, which is excluded. The only problem I've had is that the updater uses IE browser settings. Since I run Proxomitron, it had to be running for updates to work and then I was getting corrupted database files, with AVK popping up errors. Manually installing both KAV and RAV definitions lessened the errors, but didn't fully fix the problem and the monitor remained greyed out with an "error" caption. I ended up re-installing and setting IE up to not use a proxy. Since I use Opera as default, it's not a big deal, but I wish AVK would just go out to the net on it's own unless *told* to use a proxy (which it has settings for). Still happy with it though.

    RP
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.