A Squared causes slowdown

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by djg05, Aug 18, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. djg05

djg05 Registered Member

With all the fuss about BOC I thought I would try out A2 paid trial. The initial scan found nothing of importance but what I did notice was a slow down in Opera. I keep several tabs open and when swithing to another for the first time or loading a new page there is a delay of around 10 seconds before either the tab opens or the new page becomes live so that you can click on links.

This is my first experience with this program and wondered if this is normal behaviour?

2. Kees1958

Kees1958 Registered Member

DJG05,

I have no experience with A2 and Opera, have tried it with FF and IE7. I found A2 with IDS to be really fast. I have noticed one akward behavior with A2. When you ad your browser to the applications list (with the monitor option) I noticed a slight performance improvement. By default A2 monitors all programs, so in theory this should not impact performance. May be you could try this also.

Regards K

3. djg05

djg05 Registered Member

Thanks Kees

I have not done anything in A2 other than let it scan and run as out of the box. It sounds as though I had better look at it more thoroughly.

I noticed afterwards that it was simple to kill off which makes me question its value. Maybe this is appealing to my paranoia. BOClean never reported anything in the years I had it, so maybe a f/w and a goods HIPS will suffice unless you go to the dodgy side of the internet.

4. Kees1958

Kees1958 Registered Member

I agree.

A2 and CyberHawk Pro (ThreatFire) are our second line of defense after sandboxed (DefenseWall and geSWall). I tried different solutions on two PC's just to see which suited best.

Reg. K

5. chrome_sturmen

chrome_sturmen Registered Member