A quick question regarding virtual machines

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by bgoodman4, May 19, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bgoodman4

bgoodman4 Registered Member

I have no experience with virtual machines but am quite intrigued by the idea. I plan to get into this area in the near future but was wondering about the ability to run an outdated OS on a virtual machine. The reason I am asking about this is because I am still using Lotus 123. A program I have been using since 1992 and one in which I have set up a number of rather complex spreadsheets that I really do not want to try to reconfigure for Excel. I am currently running XP and 123 works fine on it. I have no idea if it will run on Windows 7 or a 64 bit system but am hopeful that I can have a virtual machine with XP as the OS on whatever system I happen to be using in the future. Would I be able to set up a virtual machine so I can continue to use 123 and XP (or whatever) indefinitely?

2. Victek

Victek Registered Member

Don't see why not. I'm currently running Windows XP in Virtualbox on Windows 7 x64 without problems. The beauty of virtual machines is they are blissfully unaware of the host OS.

3. Sully

Sully Registered Member

When I first started using vmWare (version 5.x if memory serves), the machine was a "virtual" 440bx motherboard. XP had all the drivers for that. Win95 and 98 worked on it as well, as did most linux distros I tried. Even ReactOS installed without instance. And vista and 7beta and 7 final worked as well. Don't know about virtual box, I have used it, but have not examined it that closely.

Take the plunge, it opens up possibilities that you had not thought about, guaranteed.

Sul.

4. Dogbiscuit

Dogbiscuit Guest

Windows 7 Professional and Ultimate (not Home Premium) can utilize XP Mode using Microsoft's Virtual PC software.