A frightening tale of computer infection and its consequences

Discussion in 'malware problems & news' started by Arup, May 1, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Arup

Arup Guest

http://msmvps.com/blogs/spywaresucks/archive/2009/04/29/1691530.aspx

“It all started when I wanted to get more performance out of my video card. I download the latest drivers and included this virus.”

Yep, that one simple act turned into an infection nightmare lasting three weeks. I’m hoping Micky will work out exactly where he got the drivers from, and let us know (as well as warning whoever it is that is distributing the infected drivers.

The entire sorry tale is at www mickyj com / blog htm (link deliberately broken because I'm not sure that I want anybody going there yet).

To save you from the need to visit, I'll copy Micky's tale of woe verbatim. Micky’s message to everybody is “Make sure to point out that no matter how cluey you are with IT (I have 20 years experience) these things are getting nasty.”

2. Mrkvonic

Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

A few points:

First, he installed the file himself ... so ...

Second, what about a read-only offline copy of data + system image on DVDs, for instance? That kind of data will remain safe no matter what. And imaging software ... he reinstalled 20 times ... that's not professional. After 20 years in IT, you ought to have an imaging system at hand.

As to reinfection, I don't see why this should occur. Infection yes, but then after the reformat - and disabling autorun on all drives, the presence of the virus on any other file should not have mattered unless executed by the user.

Third, what about booting into live session or Linux and then cleaning the infected files at leisure?

Mrk

3. Sully

Sully Registered Member

Honestly Mrkvonic, how can this thread continue when you cut to the chase so quickly? lol.

Ruined :D

Sul.

4. Eice

Eice Registered Member