64 bit question

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-Rescue Forum' started by Tony, Feb 11, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tony

    Tony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Posts:
    702
    Location:
    Cumbria, England
    Was there a seperate exe for installing 32 bit and 64 bit or was there only one that was for both 32 and 64 bit??

    Reason for asking is i now have a 64 bit laptop that i would like to use rescue with.
     
  2. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    Separate .exe for x32 and x64.

    However, you can use any flavor (Home, Professional, Ultimate ....), you download and make it all flavors, very easily!

    Best regards,

    KOR!
     
  3. Tony

    Tony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Posts:
    702
    Location:
    Cumbria, England
    Thanks King of Rapture, does anyone have a copy of the 64bit exe that i could have of the workstation version please.
    Kicking myself now although my 32 bit version does seem to be working okay in Windows 7 Home Premium.
     
  4. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    Duh me!

    I thought that you were talking about Windows 7. Next time, I need to learn the title (forum) in which the thread resides.

    My apologies!

    Best regards,

    KOR!
     
  5. Tony

    Tony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Posts:
    702
    Location:
    Cumbria, England
    Lol, it could also have something to do with a lack of a clear explanation on my part.
     
  6. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,392
    Tony, there is only one installer for each version of FD-Rescue.

    Panagiotis
     
  7. Tony

    Tony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Posts:
    702
    Location:
    Cumbria, England
    Thank you Panagiotis :)

    I think i will stick with Rescue now as i was using FD-ISR pretty much the same as Rescue anyway.
    Disappointed that it died so quickly, although i think the price had a lot to do with it.
    $99 was way overpriced for the workstation version.
     
  8. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,392
    You are welcome Tony.

    Both the price and the lack of archives.
    Panagiotis
     
  9. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    Hi Panagiotis,

    Two question for this version in comparison to the FD-ISR.

    1. Does the version need the SRP to be removed?

    2. For Windows 7, does the Bootsect.exe needs to be installed?

    Many thanks in advance.

    Best regards,

    KOR!
     
  10. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,392
    Hi Mohamed,

    -1. I do not remember, probably it can but I am not sure...

    -2. For version 1 (Horizondatasys) that was combatible with xp and vista yes it is needed. The latest leapfrog lite/workstation/server do not need it since they recognize the 7's bootsector.

    Panagiotis
     
  11. Birdman

    Birdman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Posts:
    566
    Does anyone know how to get the 64-bit version of FD-Rescue Lite? I have a purchased/paid version of the 32-bit version but I recently purchased a new system with Windows 7 x64.

    Thanks.
     
  12. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    3,946
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    I am in the same boat.
     
  13. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,392
    A 64-bit version does not exist... The 32-bit works fine on 7 x64.

    Panagiotis
     
  14. pinso

    pinso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Posts:
    246
    Yep , the 32bit version would work on a 64bit version, but is their any chance that FD Rescue or the Pro version would ever be launched again, its a dam good product.

    Its seriously needs a archive making feature to any drive and at least two,three empty snapshot feature too, that would make it a winner product.

    Can't really understand why the author would not integrate these in this product, since its a great product, lessening its power would only handicap it.

    But if the author seriously want this product to be a success it must give a sincere thought to the above statement. :ninja:

    But its a product like no other, it really makes you bulletproof. ;)
     
  15. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    15,198
    Pinso, there is nothing more to give thought to, it's over, done. Use what you have and be glad you have it.
     
  16. pinso

    pinso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Posts:
    246

    Yeah you are right, i'll give you that, glad to have FD ISR Pro 3.32 in my possession, can't find any perfect replacement to FD ISR, isn't it too goood.


    But this product still has a market and i don't think their is any other tool similar to these although their are with different band wagon and with different feature belonging in these category. But shoot i would love to see talks about FD ISR in this forum .

    Todd may be secretly developing something, with similar features.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.