4.2.40 - Failure during the package install - exit code: 1603

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by maximx86, Jun 9, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. maximx86

maximx86 Registered Member

Hello,

I am getting : Failure during the package install - exit code: 1603, description: Fatal error during installation. on a few machines when I am pushing the updates. I have the latest ERAC and ERAS.

In ERAC:
    1. "Get Info" completes successfully
    2. "Diagnostics" completes successfully

I found the info about error Error 1603, but I don't have any other AVs installed and I have been using ESET for almost 2 years now

Error 1603 on push installation: Generic error
    Cause: The installer is detecting other Antivirus software on the computer. Uninstall the previous antivirus/firewall. If you try installing the .msi manually on the computer, it will show a message that another Antivirus progam such as "AVAST" was detected. Uninstall that software and redo the push installation. Not enough disk space or a corrupted Windows installer can also cause this error.

4. I ran ESET msi installer locally to ignore any conflicts (IGNORE_CONFLICTS=1). It didn't work...

The failed installation left some folders and registry entries I cannot take ownership either as a local or a domain admin

HKLM\Software\ESET
    HKLM\Software\ESET\Security
    HKLM\Software\ESET\CurrentVersion
    HKLM\Software\ESET\CurrentVersion\Info
    HKLM\Software\ESET\CurrentVersion\InstalledVersionInfo
    HKLM\Software\ESET\CurrentVersion\Plugins
    HKLM\Software\ESET\CurrentVersion\RAClient
    HKLM\Software\ESET\CurrentVersion\Scanners
    HKLM\Software\ESET\CurrentVersion\Scheduler

5. I followed this guide and tried to remove NOD in Safe Mode http://kb.eset.com/esetkb/index?page=content&id=SOLN2289 but the Uninstaller crashes without any logs in EventViewer

Here is the output from SubInAcl when I try to grant permissions to one of the keys: