Eudora mailbox .mbx errors ?

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by John2222, Sep 27, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. John2222

John2222 Registered Member

I'm new to Nod32, but I notice that during a manual scan that Nod32 seems unable to scan the saved email mailbox folders/files.

I get lots of error messages like this:
    D:\Eudoradata\mysave.mbx »MIME » - error occurred while reading archive

Should I worry about this? Is this normal? I'm assuming Nod32 doesn't have an unpacker for mbx files.

2. Marcos

Marcos Eset Staff Account

mbx files are not supported, just ignore the error, or disable email files in the on-demand scanner setup.

3. webyourbusiness

webyourbusiness Registered Member

I think .mbx files are a hang over/legacy piece within Eudora - ie, you can use them , or convert to their newer counterpart (which are faster and less prone to corruption).

I would look into converting from .mbx files - if I recall correctly, it was just a click in one of the options tabs (but it was several years ago that I made that change - with v4 I think...).

hth

Greg

4. John2222

.mbx files (and corresponding .toc file) make up a "folder-mailbox" within Eudora to store related emails. It is equivalent to Outlook Express .dbx folders.

I am using Eudora 6 current version.

I assume that Nod32 supports OE .dbx folders?

Any idea if Nod32 is planning to support Eudora .mbx folders?

5. webyourbusiness

hmm... yes, mbx is the current, not the old method - or perhaps I'm just creeking back to me Mac w/Eudora days - apologies...

I wasn't on a machine with eudora until now... I will have to look more closely, as I don't recall seeing mbx errors in NOD32 logs ... why shouldn't NOD32 be able to scan mbx files..?

6. John2222

It appears that Nod32 is trying. When I context (right-click) scan the Eudora data folder, I see a giant 100% cpu use for awhile on one of my larger .mbx files and the file name shows/changes to part0001.txt.