Is NOD32 better than Kaspersky?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by shadowatcher, Aug 22, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. shadowatcher

shadowatcher Registered Member

Hi all,

I've been using KAV Pro for several years now and I have had no problems with it. Yet, after reading up on NOD32 it seems that this AV pretty much rocks. Can I get ya'lls opinion on NOD32 and why you chose it over other AVs? Also, do you think NOD32 is better than Kaspersky?

Thanks!

John

2. Edwin024

Edwin024 Registered Member

NOD is different. It has heuristics that are far better than what KAV now has. But KAV has more signatures. But Eset has been busy with upgrading their defs too. With NOD and with KAV you are well protected. But NOD has a much lighter footprint plus a faster scan engine. Half an hour on a big harddisk filled with programmes where KAV takes about two to three hours. I went from KAv to NOD32.

3. Detox

Detox Retired Moderator

I've moved this from the NOD forum to the "other AVs" forum as it is a comparative question. You can also search this forum but mostly you will find endless debate on this subject ;)

4. Unity

Unity Registered Member

For the love of God , use the search fonction please... my eyes are bleeding
    with the old Kaspersky/NOD 32 debate.

There are countless threads like this one , look for them and use the AV that
    suits your need.

5. Diver

Diver Registered Member

Is coffee better than tea?

What do you mean by "better"?

You will be fine with either, provided you wear a tin foil hat:)

6. Chuck_IV

Chuck_IV Registered Member

Not to say it doesn't "rock" but keep in mind NOD's official forums are on these boards, so IMO you will tend to see more "hype" for NOD. Both are great AV's and no matter which one you pick, you won't go wrong.

Just an FYI, I use Kaspersy Pro.

7. trickyricky

trickyricky Registered Member