Kav 5.0.383---NEVER AGAIN

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by bigc73542, Aug 12, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bigc73542

bigc73542 Retired Moderator

To start with I want to explain that I am not a newbie useing antivirus products. I usually have at least five different av's installed a week trying them out to see how well the behave and do their job. I have tried every version of Kav for quite a while, the latest 5.0.383. I installed it and used the recommended settings which I don't usually do. I always have it to alert me so I can make the decision as to what I want deleted. Especially with Kav because it absolutly come up with false positives once in a while. Well after installing it and browsing a bit I performed an on demand scan and it detected something and deleted it and my comp immediatly turned off. Well this great saviour to mankind Kav antivirus detected some system drivers as malware and deleted them. Kav usually saves a copy of what it gets rid of which is great if your computer will start back up to restore the files it deleted. It is inevetible in my opinion that any av that puts so many crap signatures in it's database has to be getting close to detecting a lot of innocent files as infected. I know I won't use Kav antivirus again, I can't afford to have a trigger happy antivirus deleting files out of my several thousand dollar computer. There are several antivirus programs available that detect almost as well as Kav that don't have the false positive problem like Kav. Well enough of the rant, just had to get it off of my chest. Some good advice though, if you use Kav make sure that you have a good back up of your system because Kav can jump up and bite you in the Butt at any time in my experience. :mad:

bigc.

P.S.
    I forgot to mention that Kav caused me to have to do a complete format and restore to correct this av's screwup.

2. rdsu

rdsu Registered Member

Not a good experience, bigc :(