Wilders Security Forums  

Go Back   Wilders Security Forums > Archived Forums > Closed Sub-Forums > Archived ESET Support Forums > NOD32 version 2 Forum
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old May 24th, 2005, 04:20 PM
hadi
 
Posts: n/a
Default I think it's false positive

Hi all
IMON trojan alert when tried to access this site.

www,spykiller.com/index.asp?Ref=2937

Last edited by Bubba : May 24th, 2005 at 04:36 PM. Reason: edited URL just in case
  #2  
Old May 24th, 2005, 04:36 PM
Bubba's Avatar
Bubba Bubba is offline
Global Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 11,279
Default Re: I think it's false positive

Whether this is valid or not....I would like to point out it would be appreciated if when posting a possible malware link....you do the best you can in not making the link a hyperlink. While I don't see nothing out of the ordinary yet....I have not looked at it close enough....since I wanted to make this point first. Unfortunately as a guest I can not IM\PM you about this matter.
  #3  
Old May 24th, 2005, 04:36 PM
zashita's Avatar
zashita zashita is offline
Frequent Poster
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 309
Default Re: I think it's false positive

It looks like this previous post

Regards
__________________
Art. #1 Cool Daddy (HB of course) is always right
Art. #2 If not (and I don't know how), .... please, refer to Art.#1
  #4  
Old May 24th, 2005, 04:42 PM
DonKid's Avatar
DonKid DonKid is offline
Frequent Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Posts: 564
Default Re: I think it's false positive

Same error here.

Let's wait for Eset Moderators.

Best Regards,

DonKid.
  #5  
Old May 24th, 2005, 05:05 PM
Bubba's Avatar
Bubba Bubba is offline
Global Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 11,279
Default Re: I think it's false positive

As zashita alluded to in post # 3....it's probably has to do with the parasite.js script entry that is displayed on that page. What troubles me is the fact that the parasite.js file downloaded from Spykiller is almost identical to the parasite.js file that "one of the most respected experts in the field of Spyware, adware, and other unsolicited software"(Andrew Clover) offers on his Parasite page....along with the script code folks can use on their respective Web sites. What's missing is the important part of who the credit should go to about the script file.

purpose: IE parasite detector (http://www.doxdesk.com/parasite/)
// author: Andrew Clover (mailto:and@doxdesk.com)
//

Code:
Spykiller script <script type="text/javascript" src="./js/parasite.js"></script> Andrew Clovers script <script type="text/jscript" src="http://www.doxdesk.com/script/parasite.js"></script>

I personally wouldn't have anything to do with those folks

Quote:
SpyKiller 2005 @ Rogue/Suspect Anti-Spyware Products list
aggressive, deceptive advertising (1, 2, 3); false positives work as goad to purchase; same app as #1 Spyware Killer, Max Privacy Protector, SpyDoctor, SpyFirewall, Spyinator, SpyLax, SpySpotter, SpywareThis, & Spyware Protection Pro; Ad-aware knockoff [A: 6-26-04 / U: 2-14-05]
  #6  
Old May 24th, 2005, 05:10 PM
hadi
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: I think it's false positive

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bubba
Whether this is valid or not....I would like to point out it would be appreciated if when posting a possible malware link....you do the best you can in not making the link a hyperlink. While I don't see nothing out of the ordinary yet....I have not looked at it close enough....since I wanted to make this point first. Unfortunately as a guest I can not IM\PM you about this matter.
sorry Bubba
I thought its an ordinary link. may I ask why.
  #7  
Old May 24th, 2005, 05:38 PM
zashita's Avatar
zashita zashita is offline
Frequent Poster
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 309
Default Re: I think it's false positive

Quote:
Originally Posted by hadi
sorry Bubba
I thought its an ordinary link. may I ask why.

Put a link of pointing to a possible threat is dangerous. If this a real threat, as everybody is curious, we will all click on it, and take the infection in our face ... and as we are not all well protected (and id is altmost impossible to be protected from all, especially new threats), our computer could be infected.
You can put the address , but not link it (no hyperlink), like this, all persons here can see this, but not have a direct access to the page. We can try the 'link' if we want, by knowing that it could be dangerous, but not everybody will click on it, only really interested persons who will investigate on this.

Regards
__________________
Art. #1 Cool Daddy (HB of course) is always right
Art. #2 If not (and I don't know how), .... please, refer to Art.#1
  #8  
Old May 24th, 2005, 06:04 PM
hadi
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: I think it's false positive

Quote:
Originally Posted by zashita
Put a link of pointing to a possible threat is dangerous. If this a real threat, as everybody is curious, we will all click on it, and take the infection in our face ... and as we are not all well protected (and id is altmost impossible to be protected from all, especially new threats), our computer could be infected.
You can put the address , but not link it (no hyperlink), like this, all persons here can see this, but not have a direct access to the page. We can try the 'link' if we want, by knowing that it could be dangerous, but not everybody will click on it, only really interested persons who will investigate on this.

Regards
didnt know that because I always see threads with clickable link like
http://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=79587
Anyway Thanks
 

Wilders Security Forums > Archived Forums > Closed Sub-Forums > Archived ESET Support Forums > NOD32 version 2 Forum « Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Settings
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2002 - 2013, Wilders Security Forums