Wilders Security Forums  

Go Back   Wilders Security Forums > Archived Forums > Closed Sub-Forums > Archived ESET Support Forums > NOD32 version 2 Forum
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old May 11th, 2005, 01:55 PM
markspiteri markspiteri is offline
Infrequent Poster
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 6
Default False Positive: www.americamagazine.org

Upon logging to www.americamagazine.org i get this below message. I am sure its a false positive.
Attached Images
 
__________________
Mark Anthony Spiteri
http://blog.mspiteri.com
  #2  
Old May 11th, 2005, 02:00 PM
Stephanos G.'s Avatar
Stephanos G. Stephanos G. is offline
Frequent Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cyprus
Posts: 720
Default Re: False Positive: www.americamagazine.org

Possible, but smt is trying to download. Strange case but possible false positive.
  #3  
Old May 11th, 2005, 02:02 PM
DonKid's Avatar
DonKid DonKid is offline
Frequent Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Posts: 564
Default Re: False Positive: www.americamagazine.org

Hi,

I have tested this site and get the same alert.
Let's wait for Eset's support.

Best Regards,

DonKid.
  #4  
Old May 11th, 2005, 02:20 PM
yea
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: False Positive: www.americamagazine.org

yep, same with <snip>, hope they fix this soon.


edited to remove porn link as per our TOS - Detox
  #5  
Old May 11th, 2005, 04:33 PM
i960
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: False Positive: www.americamagazine.org

I checked it out as well, and it does the same thing for me. At the top of the parasite.js file, it has this:

// purpose: IE parasite detector (http://www.doxdesk.com/parasite/)
// author: Andrew Clover (mailto:and@doxdesk.com)
// version: release 2.8 (24-Jul-2004)
// licence: use freely

I checked out the code and that site. It looks legit, although stupid and completely unnessecary. I build websites for a living, and I would never put something like that on my website. Someone needs to let them know they are doing nothing to help their visitors, and causing problems for those with NOD32.
  #6  
Old May 15th, 2005, 04:33 PM
rothko's Avatar
rothko rothko is offline
Frequent Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 579
Default Re: False Positive: www.americamagazine.org

Quote:
Originally Posted by i960
I checked it out as well, and it does the same thing for me. At the top of the parasite.js file, it has this:

// purpose: IE parasite detector (http://www.doxdesk.com/parasite/)
// author: Andrew Clover (mailto:and@doxdesk.com)
// version: release 2.8 (24-Jul-2004)
// licence: use freely

I checked out the code and that site. It looks legit, although stupid and completely unnessecary. I build websites for a living, and I would never put something like that on my website. Someone needs to let them know they are doing nothing to help their visitors, and causing problems for those with NOD32.
i reported this to eset about 2-3 weeks ago, i was replied to asking for the file to be sent zipped up, which i did, but i havent heard back yet and the file is still recognised as above...i'm guessing they've just been very busy with the new release!
__________________
kiss my pig
  #7  
Old May 15th, 2005, 04:38 PM
RejZoR's Avatar
RejZoR RejZoR is offline
Polymorphic Sheep
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Europe/Slovenia/Ljubljana
Posts: 5,366
Default Re: False Positive: www.americamagazine.org

I just wonder why it's named parasite.js
It's just screaming: "I'm malware,pick me!!!!"
Although its probably a false positive...
__________________
RejZoR's Little Secrets
  #8  
Old May 15th, 2005, 11:20 PM
Gauthreau
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: False Positive: www.americamagazine.org

Eset better get on the fp thing or they're going to lose their title with VB.

Neil
  #9  
Old May 15th, 2005, 11:37 PM
Jaska's Avatar
Jaska Jaska is offline
Regular Poster
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 86
Default Re: False Positive: www.americamagazine.org

I got just the same warning from http://www.auditmypc.com/free-spyware-removal.asp and I have submitted the parasite.js file to Eset too
  #10  
Old May 16th, 2005, 12:18 AM
Detox's Avatar
Detox Detox is offline
Global Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Texas, USA
Posts: 8,507
Default Re: False Positive: www.americamagazine.org

LMAO that link showed me this

Quote:
We Found Private Information!
192.168.1.102 - Private IP
Full details found [here]


muah hahahaha

On a more serious note, I really wouldn't touch a thing on that site.
__________________
"The price of freedom is eternal vigilance."
- Thomas Jefferson
  #11  
Old May 16th, 2005, 12:54 AM
Happy Bytes
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: False Positive: www.americamagazine.org

We'll see... I take a look at it at work...
  #12  
Old May 16th, 2005, 09:40 AM
duncantuna
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: False Positive: www.americamagazine.org

Funny, my college roommate works for that magazine, and I noticed the same NOD32 false positive a week ago, so emailled him and told him his webmaster needs to update the parasite.js script, or get rid of it entirely.

If you go to the parasite.js author's website, they have the most up to date version of the script, which does NOT trigger a NOD32 false positive.
  #13  
Old May 16th, 2005, 09:45 AM
tazdevl's Avatar
tazdevl tazdevl is offline
Frequent Poster
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: AZ, USA
Posts: 837
Default Re: False Positive: www.americamagazine.org

Wow they need to upgrade their connection.
  #14  
Old May 16th, 2005, 10:47 AM
bsilva's Avatar
bsilva bsilva is offline
Frequent Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: MA, USA
Posts: 238
Default Re: False Positive: www.americamagazine.org

Quote:
Originally Posted by Detox
LMAO that link showed me this




muah hahahaha

On a more serious note, I really wouldn't touch a thing on that site.


I agree... I can see why NOD32 is picking it up. If this was a site that is up to no good, I would like for something to pick it up.
__________________
Brian
  #15  
Old May 16th, 2005, 12:06 PM
TonyKlein's Avatar
TonyKlein TonyKlein is offline
Security Expert
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 3,947
Default Re: False Positive: www.americamagazine.org

Quote:
Originally Posted by duncantuna
If you go to the parasite.js author's website, they have the most up to date version of the script, which does NOT trigger a NOD32 false positive.

Eggzactly! BTW, Andrew Clover is one of the most respected experts in the field of Spyware, adware, and other unsolicited software, and his site holds a wealth of information for the uninitiated and the pros alike.

Others are using the script as well, but no problem there either. Here's another example:

http://aumha.org/a/noads.php
__________________
Tony < > CLSID List - A Collection of Autostart Locations
 

Wilders Security Forums > Archived Forums > Closed Sub-Forums > Archived ESET Support Forums > NOD32 version 2 Forum « Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Settings
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2002 - 2013, Wilders Security Forums