NEED SERIOUS PC HELP PLEASE

Discussion in 'malware problems & news' started by WhiteShadow., Feb 3, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. WhiteShadow.

WhiteShadow. Registered Member

I'm not good with computers or anything but I know the basics, so here's my story.
    In attempt to open a file on my desktop (Specifically a maphack program that works with Diablo2, an online game. The maphack itself is harmless even in the game) a message came up saying the mother file is a hidden file in my System32 folder and it may be a trojan, this had never happened before. I went in to see it was a .exe file, cant remember the name but it started with 'M' and looked like random letters. After I deleted it no files on my computer would open. I restarted my computer, NOTHING CAME UP.
    I cannot open any file, or run command prompt or anything, and when my computer starts up there's nothing but a black screen and mouse cursor. I can use Ctrl+Alt+Delete and it doesn't look like any unusual programs are running.

I tried safe mode, and starting from "last known settings that worked" in the Windows XP 'F8' command during startup and they didnt make any difference.
    This is what I know about the file: It was created on my compter January 24th. The only things i downloaded/installed since then were P2P file sharing programs, specifically Kazaa, Grokster, and Morpheus.
    EVERYTHING ON MY COPUTER WORKED FINE UNTIL I DELETED THE FILE FROM MY SYSTEM32 FOLDER.
    I'm sending this from a friend's computer and will check the tread at least daily.
    If anybody could give me any advice or help i'd appreciate it a lot, Thanks.

2. snowbound

snowbound Retired Moderator

Hi WhiteShadow. :)

Welcome to Wilders.

Can u get to your Start Menu?

If so, u might want to run System File Checker.

To do this, go to the Run box on the Start Menu and type in: sfc /scannow.

snowbound

3. WhiteShadow.