Wilders Security Forums  

Go Back   Wilders Security Forums > Official Javacool Software Forum > SpywareBlaster & Other Forum
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old January 4th, 2003, 10:19 AM
eagar2 eagar2 is offline
Infrequent Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2
Default http://and.doxdesk.com/parasite/ blocked by other program

http://and.doxdesk.com/parasite/ is listed as recommended in the Setup box for SpywareBlaster, but it yields the following message:

This page has been blocked by SpyBlocker due to security
and Privacy concerns. Some Possible Reasons:

Tracks or Profiles you.
Gathers Private and Confidential Information from you.
Installs software on your machine without your approval.
Has Unsafe Content.
No Content other than Advertisements and Popup windows.
Contains a Possible Keylogger Program.

What do you think?
  #2  
Old January 4th, 2003, 10:24 AM
Paul Wilders's Avatar
Paul Wilders Paul Wilders is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 12,383
Default Re:http://and.doxdesk.com/parasite/ blocked by other program

eager2,

I get a 404 when clicking your link; are you sure there's no typo in it?

regards.

paul
__________________
01110010 01100101 01100111 01100001 01110010 01100100 01110011 00100000 01110000 01100001 01110101 01101100
  #3  
Old January 4th, 2003, 10:52 AM
Pieter_Arntz's Avatar
Pieter_Arntz Pieter_Arntz is offline
Spyware Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 12,298
Default Re:http://and.doxdesk.com/parasite/ blocked by other program

Hi eagar2,

The correct URL would be: www.doxdesk.com/parasite/
and the warning you´re getting probably is because of this:

Detection script
Your browser has been checked for parasites. None were found. (However this script cannot detect all of them!)

I had to put it in my Trusted Zone.

Regards,

Pieter
__________________
Regards,

Pieter
It´s nice to be important, but it´s more important to be nice.
Remove & Prevent spyware
It's human to make mistakes. It's even more so to blame the computer for it.
  #4  
Old January 4th, 2003, 11:12 AM
javacool javacool is offline
Javacool Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 3,656
Default Re:http://and.doxdesk.com/parasite/ blocked by other program

Quote:
quoting: eagar2 link=board=34;threadid=5966;start=0#39460 date=1041693586]
http://and.doxdesk.com/parasite/ is listed as recommended in the Setup box for SpywareBlaster, but it yields the following message:

This page has been blocked by SpyBlocker due to security
and Privacy concerns. Some Possible Reasons:

Tracks or Profiles you.
Gathers Private and Confidential Information from you.
Installs software on your machine without your approval.
Has Unsafe Content.
No Content other than Advertisements and Popup windows.
Contains a Possible Keylogger Program.

What do you think?


It is certainly a safe site, but as Pieter sad, the new address is http://www.doxdesk.com

The detection script is Javascript, I could understand a warning about that...but:
Quote:
Tracks or Profiles you.
Gathers Private and Confidential Information from you.
Installs software on your machine without your approval.
Has Unsafe Content.
No Content other than Advertisements and Popup windows.
Contains a Possible Keylogger Program.

None of those are correct - at the very most, the descriptions of parasites on his website may contain links to the maker's sites (and from there you MIGHT be able to download the spyware), but none of the others are accurate.

I changed the link to point to the new address on the SpywareBlaster website - I'll update it for the next version in the setup (thanks for pointing it out).

Best regards,

-Javacool
__________________

*Official Javacool Software Website*
*SpywareBlaster*

*Please note: I am not responsible if any advice herein causes any trouble whatsoever *
  #5  
Old January 4th, 2003, 11:18 AM
eagar2 eagar2 is offline
Infrequent Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2
Default Re:http://and.doxdesk.com/parasite/ blocked by other program

Thanks, Javacool. That did the trick. And, yes, it appears the other software was overreacting.
  #6  
Old January 11th, 2003, 06:27 PM
Andrew Clover
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re:http://and.doxdesk.com/parasite/ blocked by other program

I think what's happening here is that SpyBlocker is actually preventing all accesses to localhost (127.0.0.1), ie. your own machine. I don't know why it would do that, but it does as far as I can tell.

The domain name and.doxdesk.com currently resolves to 127.0.0.1, because there is an ongoing DDoS against and.doxdesk.com, and telling computers infected with this DDoS to bombard *themselves* is the way to ensure least network damage is caused.

This will, unfortunately, continue, until I can get set with a new hosting provider less clueless about network filtering.

--
Andrew Clover
mailto:and@doxdesk.com
http://www.doxdesk.com/
  #7  
Old January 12th, 2003, 12:33 AM
Mike_Healan's Avatar
Mike_Healan Mike_Healan is offline
Spyware Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 302
Default Re:http://and.doxdesk.com/parasite/ blocked by other program

hehehehe...... Pretty slick

What's the story on that web host. Why won't they filter out the attack? Seems like all it would take would be to set the switch to drop icmp rather than answering it.
__________________
www.spywareinfo.com
 

Wilders Security Forums > Official Javacool Software Forum > SpywareBlaster & Other Forum « Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Settings
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2002 - 2009, Wilders Security Forums