protection for restricted sites being disabled

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by barcados, Dec 17, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. barcados

barcados Registered Member

I am a newbie with postings - I hope that this is the right place to post this.

The Proctection for restricted sites is automatically being disabled for three sites:
    blazefind
    mediatickets
    searchbarcash

I have "cleaned" (several times a day) my computer with:
    ad-awareSE
    spy-subtract
    spybot search n destroy

I have done this locally as adminstrator, and logged on as myself. The scans show there is nothing there anymore, but I get the odd spontaneous pop-up advert in an IE type window (I mostly use Mozilla).

In the past I had some form of CoolWebSearch (about:blank) but that is supposed to have been cleaned.

I have noticed that in the Tools section about:blank is listed as the local machines homepage, but I do not see that from within IE. Will changing this using Spyblaster help my situation?

I hate knowing there is something there I can't get out - is this typical of something and how do I get rid of it?

Thank you.

2. snapdragin

snapdragin Registered Member

Hi barcados, and welcome to the Forum.

I saw your post in claudio's thread, but I'll answer in this one and ask that you do not cross-post in other threads but stay with this one, please. :)

As LowWaterMark mentioned in the other thread, some anti-spyware programs can mistakenly identify some of SpywareBlaster's protection as an infection. Then when you have the anti-spyware tools fix those items, you end up in a vicious cycle of disabling and enabling SpywareBlaster's protection each time you run a scan with your anti-spyware tools.