Wilders Security Forums  

Go Back   Wilders Security Forums > Privacy Related Topics > privacy general
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old November 21st, 2004, 01:35 AM
AJohn's Avatar
AJohn AJohn is offline
Frequent Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 935
Default "The "Lure" of Aluria"

Just so this stays on the net after Googles cache is gone.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CastleCops (http://castlecops.com/modules.php?name=News&file=categories&op=newindex&catid=38)
In an earlier article we had reported from another source that Aluria sent a cease and desist order to SpywareGuide for posting an article called "The Lure of Aluria". That article has been removed from SpywareGuide, however, Google has kept it in its cache. Have a look.

It appears another article called "Friend or Foe" has also been terminated. Google supplies a cache for you to read.

Note: Updated with new evidence, showing SpywareGuide was correct about Aluria.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Google (http://64.233.161.104/search?q=cache:VF5IaAQv6ZkJ:www.spywareguide.com/articles/article_show.php%3Fid%3D25+aluria&hl=en)
The "Lure" of Aluria

by Wayne Porter

Recently we talked about PurityScan and the need for users to read the privacy policy and agreements (EULAs) they digitally sign between themselves and software authors. If you will recall PurityScan promised to get annoying advertising off of your machine, including pornography for free. What they hid in the fine print is that they would offset the cost by generating a nasty run of annoying pop-up ads.

Aluria Software makes and distrbutes an anti-spy and privacy application called Aluria Spyware Eliminator. It sounds cozy enough but before you buy or try let's take a quick look at their privacy policy. Afterall, a company that sells privacy solutions should have a privacy policy that protects end users as much possible. You will find the section of their agreement in italics and our analysis after each section of the agreement.

Page Referenced: http://www.aluriasoftware.com/index.php?page_name=privacy&specialoffer=&

".... ALURIA believes in permission-based marketing. By using our website and/or purchasing any products and services marketed by ALURIA, you expressly consent to the terms of this policy."

In short ALURIA believes they should have your permission before they contact you with an offer and that if you even use their website or one of their products you have agreed to the entire privacy agreement.

This Privacy Policy also applies to consumers that have agreed to receive e-mail and direct mailings from ALURIA and its Advertisers, whether at one of our Websites, via email, direct mail, on third party websites, via co-registration or otherwise.

If you signed up on another list or a 3rd party website via co-registration ALURIA can market and send offers to you. If you don't understand how co-registration works see our article on Co-Registration and Your Inbox.

"The personal profile information that you submit to ALURIA and its Advertisers remains your property, but by submitting that information to ALURIA, you grant ALURIA the right to use that information for marketing purposes including, but not limited to, sharing such information via co-registration with Advertisers. "

This is the telling aspect of the agreement. In short while your profile remains your property ALURIA may share that information with other 3rd party advertisers for the purpose of marketing. We find it strange that a company that is committed to reducing the amount of e-mail and unwanted advertising messages users have to endure would turn around so quickly and share their customer lists for profit through co-registration.

Registrants to ALURIA operated Websites may receive e-mails confirming their Registration with that Website, co-registration with Advertisers, as well as promotional marketing of commercial products and services. If you do not want to receive e-mail, direct mailings and/or telemarketing from ALURIA or any of its affiliates and subsidiaries in the future, please let ALURIA know by e-mailing us at the following address: (unsubscribe@aluriasoftware.com). To unsubscribe from any co-registration Advertiser's website, please visit their website for complete details.

By accepting this agreement with ALURIA you may receive promotional marketing materials for commercial products and services outside of the ones ALURIA owns and operates. Furthermore you may even receive telemarketing calls, direct mailings in your postal mail or e-mails from ALURIA, their affiliates and subsidiaries. The next question is how do you feel about a company that claims to protect your privacy generating extra profit from your name, address, and phone number? This can include annoying telemarketing calls!

... You should carefully review the privacy statements or policies on any other site that you visit because those privacy statements or policies will apply to your visit to that site and may be very different from our policy.

We have to agree with this. Consumers SHOULD be reading the privacy agreement or know the general privacy policies of websites they visit. ALURIA has, fortunately, made it quite clear they plan to share your information with marketing partners via co-registration services and possibly via direct marketing and telemarketing. There is nothing like getting yet another annoying telemarketing call during dinner. Ultimately it is up to users to decide if this is the kind of privacy guarantees they would want from a company who is protecting their privacy.

This article is copyright 2004 by SpywareGuide.com.
It may not be reprinted or copied without the express written consent of the author.
__________________
·¤"Mash For Our Dreams"¤·
  #2  
Old November 21st, 2004, 03:56 AM
bigbuck's Avatar
bigbuck bigbuck is offline
Massive Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Qld, Aus
Posts: 4,877
Default Re: "The "Lure" of Aluria"

Snakes!
  #3  
Old November 21st, 2004, 04:08 AM
AJohn's Avatar
AJohn AJohn is offline
Frequent Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 935
Default Re: "The "Lure" of Aluria"

I have made a copy of the Cached Google page which can be viewed at www.doubledaze.com

Aluria will not be able to remove it since I am just quoting information I found on the net and provided a link to the information. Love you to Aluria.
__________________
·¤"Mash For Our Dreams"¤·
  #4  
Old June 5th, 2005, 10:54 PM
Detox's Avatar
Detox Detox is offline
Global Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Texas, USA
Posts: 8,508
Default Re: "The "Lure" of Aluria"

Post by guest "istguru" to this 7 month old thread has been removed pending admin review as it linked to a very questionable site IMHO.

Edit - reviewed and post won't be returning. The site linked to is on the Rogue Site List. - snapdragin
__________________
"The price of freedom is eternal vigilance."
- Thomas Jefferson

Last edited by snapdragin : June 5th, 2005 at 11:56 PM. Reason: added review note
 

Wilders Security Forums > Privacy Related Topics > privacy general « Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Settings
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2002 - 2010, Wilders Security Forums