Shut NOD32 Control Center?

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 1 Forum' started by optigrab, Nov 6, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. optigrab

optigrab Registered Member

Hi
    I've been using NOD32 for a couple of months and I love it. It almost works too well (makes the neurotic in me wonder if it's working at all).
    Here's my question:
    I've been attepting to create a backup image of my PC using an imaging program that runs from within Windows (I won't mention the name right now). Since I've been having difficulty with the sw, I've been trying to get it to work by shutting down as many other applications as possible (AMON, firewall, Boclean, etc.) But I still have NODCC in the system tray. Other than Windows Task Manager (W2K), is there a way to do this?

2. rodzilla

rodzilla Registered Member

> I've been using NOD32 for a couple of months and I love it. It almost works too well (makes the neurotic in me wonder if it's working at all).

I'd say there's a fairly good chance that it's working. :eek:

> I've been attepting to create a backup image of my PC using an imaging program that runs from within Windows (I won't mention the name right now). Since I've been having difficulty with the sw, I've been trying to get it to work by shutting down as many other applications as possible (AMON, firewall, Boclean, etc.) But I still have NODCC in the system tray. Other than Windows Task Manager (W2K), is there a way to do this?

NOD32CC runs as a service on NT systems ... the "Quit" button is inoperative.

Killing the process in Task Manager _should_ be OK, but I wouldn't do this myself. Task Manager's "undesired results" warning is very understated imo.

I also wouldn't run an imaging program from Windows. I know the latest versions of a couple of them claim to do this successfully, but I still image our XP machines (FAT32) in DOS from a W98 startup floppy.

3. snapdragin

snapdragin Registered Member