Where is WG4? Is WG running in background? Newbie PE and TDS-3 Questions.

Discussion in 'WormGuard' started by Cyborg, Sep 1, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Cyborg

Cyborg Registered Member

Hi Guys,

I have just purchased WG as part of the package with TDS-3 and PE. All 3 programmes seem to have installed ok.

In the advert, prior to purchase it says something like includes auto update to WG4 and TDS-4 from version 3. When are these versions due to go live and will I have to uninstall and reinstall again? I know that I am using TDS-3, thats what the radius file says radius.td3. when I updated today.

I have enabled WG and made it active but have no idea what version it is; I assume WG3. Is WG only active when I have clicked on the start-up Icon or is it running all the time in the background?

To be honest I am not that good with software. I use TDS-3 to scan my PC. If it comes up with anything like for example a file I renamed ages ago to "cthelper.old" I just delete it. The only other bit I use is to check which Ports are open which normally is 25 and 110 which TD-3 closes and 135 and 445 which "Remain Silent," what ever that means.

With Port Explorer I use it to have a look at what other software or IP's come to life when I play a game or run a programme. Nothing more as I don't really know what to use it for. Why does "msmsgs.exe" keep starting up even though I kill the process? When I go to view Processes, Process 4 which just says "System" I cannot find more info on this. I assume its important :D the same as Process 0.

The way I am using the software, is this ok? A daily update and scan with TDS-3, a quick overview with PE and WG3 well I do not know what to do with it to be honest to get the best out of the software.