Wilders Security Forums  

Go Back   Wilders Security Forums > Software, Hardware and General Services > other software & services
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old September 21st, 2002, 08:29 AM
currius currius is offline
Infrequent Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 1
Default Somehow ironic....

As I was surfing my way up from the following URL: "http://javacool1.freeservers.com/" to download bdkiller a window popped up on my screen asking if I would be interested d/l
XUPITER software.

Let me just say I was a bit surprised, and, I thought you people would like to know.
  #2  
Old September 21st, 2002, 08:38 AM
TonyKlein's Avatar
TonyKlein TonyKlein is offline
Security Expert
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 3,955
Default Re:Somehow ironic....

Xupiter is a lop.com clone, and somehow I don't think you could possibly have 'caught' that one on Javacool's site.

Maybe somewere else, while getting there?
__________________
Tony < > CLSID List - A Collection of Autostart Locations
  #3  
Old September 21st, 2002, 10:31 AM
javacool javacool is offline
BrightFort Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 3,881
Default Re:Somehow ironic....

It is possible that you got it on that site - if you notice, they are a free webhosting company. I only used them for a little while - all links on the pages redirect to the new sites generously hosted here at Wilders (which have no ads, pop-ups, etc - again, the original "freeservers" sites were only used to get the program out as quickly as possible). At the time I originally put the pages up, they did not have any pop-ups displayed that tried to install anything (if that had originally been the case, I would have never used them).

I only keep the sites up in case someone gets an old link - B3D Killer is now available from: http://www.wilderssecurity.com/B3DKiller.html

-Javacool
__________________

*Official BrightFort Website*
*SpywareBlaster*

*Please note: I am not responsible if any advice herein causes any trouble whatsoever *
  #4  
Old September 21st, 2002, 10:39 AM
javacool javacool is offline
BrightFort Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 3,881
Default Re:Somehow ironic....

In another related note, I have never gotten a pop-up for Xupiter...or anything else for that matter .

A combination of AdShield (www.adshield.org) and Proxomitron do a great job!

-Javacool
__________________

*Official BrightFort Website*
*SpywareBlaster*

*Please note: I am not responsible if any advice herein causes any trouble whatsoever *
  #5  
Old September 21st, 2002, 10:52 AM
TonyKlein's Avatar
TonyKlein TonyKlein is offline
Security Expert
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 3,955
Default Re:Somehow ironic....

I disabled Adshield, but nothing untoward happened to me when visiting the site.

Wouldn't it be an ActiveX thingie more likely?

Not on that site, though.
__________________
Tony < > CLSID List - A Collection of Autostart Locations
 

Wilders Security Forums > Software, Hardware and General Services > other software & services « Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Settings
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2002 - 2013, Wilders Security Forums