I am going back to Nod32 V4, ENOUGH of NOD 5.0.94.0!

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by Albsterama, Nov 18, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Albsterama

Albsterama Registered Member

I have been using ESET Nod32 since 2006 and going from V4 to V5 is the worst transition in versions!

Why?

I have a quad core, Win 7 with SP1 and I am showing extremely slowness with the ekrn.exe taking up and literally freezing my laptop when I jump tab to tab on Firefox, or jump between an open session of Chrome and Firefox. Or jump from Chrome/Firefox to Thunderbird.

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/198/ekrn.jpg/

I noticed my HDD light going berzerk for anywhere between 15s to 1 min and the Resource Monitor will show ekrn.exe at the top of the CPU cycle.

Switching back to V4, I show NONE of the slowness so I am not sure whats going on here with V5.

Any help would be appreciated.

2. Marcos

Marcos Eset Staff Account

Does disabling HIPS or web protection make a difference? If the former, it's very likely that some application in your system invokes continual recompilation of HIPS rules. It's always necessary to narrow it down to the particular module / option in order to guess what might be causing the issue.

3. Albsterama

I did disable HIPs, that was my 1st action and it made no difference.

I also found an option to set "active" scanning (sorry if I don't say this right as I no longer have V5) for all the browsers programs and Thunderbird and it improved it somewhat but the issue was still there...still lag going from one application to another. However, the whole application would be "grayed" out until ekrn.exe was done and off the high CPU cycle.