Internet Browsers and Security

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by Delgado, May 5, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Delgado

Delgado Registered Member

I hear a lot of talk about Internet Explorer and security risks, but sureley with all the tools available to work with Explorer, and frequent patching, this must be the most secure browser of all? How many security tools are available for Opera or Mozilla etc.? Or am I talking rubbish?

:D :D

2. dog

dog Guest

Hi delgado, :)

I'm far from an expert ... but I believe most of the security issues re. IE involve ... system rights ...being apart of the OS and having the same system rights is where the problem all beings.

Other browser aren't trusted apps and don't have the same rights IE does. I've just switched to FireFox which is a great browser ... at least the one I preferred over the others. I know this isn't a complete answer but at least it's a start. :)

HTH, ;)

dog - *puppy*

I'm not that technical, so experts correct me if I'm wrong. ;)

Last edited by a moderator: May 5, 2004
  3. sig

sig Registered Member

Well here's one article from spywareinfoforum.com on the subject of browser hijacking and IE. One of the issues with IE is that it is integrated into the OS, unlike third-party browsers like the Mozillas and Opera. http://www.spywareinfoforum.com/articles/hijacked/prevent.php