![]() |
|
#1
|
||||
|
||||
|
Don't use Lenovo Thinkpads, but came across this through a German site.
Apparently it's a Java based trojan downloader and seems to be using (hiding in) an IFrame left by the attacker. Found this from German Forum... http://www.thinkpad-forum.de/softwar...treibermatrix/ (German) Some of the known download sites affected:- hxxp://download.lenovo.com/lenovo/content/ddfm/MIGR-61596.html (R51e) hxxp://download.lenovo.com/lenovo/content/ddfm/MIGR-67100.html (X41 Tablet) hxxp://download.lenovo.com/lenovo/content/ddfm/MIGR-68184.html (Reserve Edition) hxxp://download.lenovo.com/lenovo/content/ddfm/MIGR-46024.html (R40, R40e) PS. It appears that Firefox and Chrome warn visitors to the website in question.
__________________
|
|
#2
|
|||
|
|||
|
Yes, it's a well-crafted attack.
Often, the i-frame or script code injection is not the fault of the web site itself, rather, the web hosting server where the vulnerability lies, giving the hacker root access whereby the malicious code can be injected into all of the HTML pages, as shown in your example. Using IE to watch the pages load, we see the malicious domain being loaded by the I-frame you post: That domain has been taken down, so we can't see how the actual exploit works. Most malicious sites these days have an exploit pack, a group of exploits looking for a vulnerability in the user's system when redirected to the malicious website. ---- rich |
|
#3
|
|||
|
|||
|
Quote:
That domain seems to be up again as i read a few minutes ago in annother forum it but not tested by myself. |
|
#4
|
||||
|
||||
|
According to source at Lenovo, the malware issue impacts html files hosted on download.lenovo.com. Searching for general (drivers EXE, PDF, warranty status, IWS, system service parts, etc.) at lenovo.com domain remains unaffected.
__________________
Microsoft MVP - Consumer Security "To teach is to learn twice." -- Joseph Joub |
|
#5
|
|||
|
|||
|
Quote:
This exploit uses "evasive" techniques, so that if an attempt is made to connect another time, the Google Search Page appears: Finjan wrote about this several years ago: Evasive Attacks Cover Their Tracks to Avoid Detection http://www.finjan.com/Pressrelease.a...Lan=1230&lan=3 Quote:
The code is definitely obfuscated (disguised). You can see that it downloads a .JAR (java) file, but the script itself cannot be understood without sophisticated de-obfuscation analysis: Code:
I could not get the exploit to run using Opera, even with Java enabled. ---- rich |
|
#6
|
||||
|
||||
|
Very surprised Lenovo got hit, i expect the chinese to be on the ball. Just shows
Tried several times yesterday with FF and IE but saw nothing but a blank page and no nasty. Today though still no nasty etc i could find. Wonder how many people got infected, probably not that many ? but still not good.
__________________
. Malware = You don't scare me A different perspective https://rt.com - https://rt.com/on-air |
|
#7
|
|||
|
|||
|
Quote:
If you are set up to test, you can use the direct URL shown in the i-frame in the screenshot in the first post. ---- rich |
|
#8
|
||||
|
||||
|
@Rmus
Hi, couldn't see/find anything on there last time, even in the source ? However when i added /pek/index.php onto the www i got all this on the page Allowed Scripting and the Java etc box dissapeared Don't have/want/ Java though. Refreshed the page and i got a redirect attempt to Google. Tried various attempts to go back, with/without Scripting/iframe, but just got time outs after about 1-2 minutes. Even using proxies with both www's resulted in the same outcome. Maybe they actively monitor their www for repeated polling etc, and then block ?If i had managed to grab something i would have passed it on to vendors and VT etc, as i wasn't planning on running it ![]()
__________________
. Malware = You don't scare me A different perspective https://rt.com - https://rt.com/on-air |
|
#9
|
|||
|
|||
|
That URL is no longer loading the Java Applet. Search for
Code:
Quote:
---- rich |
|
#10
|
||||
|
||||
|
@Rmus
Got the source page this time and sure enough just like you said dev.s.Saxonia is there. Also saw tmp/des.jarInputted into the very useful http://jsunpack.jeek.org/dec/go and got DL'd the Zip As you say Quote:
Also noticed in there Thought you might be interested in the PDF exploits and Drivebys from there Viruses Threats found: 8 Drive-By Downloads Threats found: 6 http://safeweb.norton.com/report/sho...egistr3red.com Quote:
Quite right Sir, good thing i'm not one of your students, otherwise detention for me I could think of a lot worse places for it though than sunny CA Lucky you ![]()
__________________
. Malware = You don't scare me A different perspective https://rt.com - https://rt.com/on-air |
|
#11
|
||||
|
||||
|
Malicious code on Lenovo driver download page - Update
Quote:
__________________
|
|
#12
|
|||
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
The cybercriminal purchases the Kit and sets up a web site (volgo-marun and registr3red in this case). The cybercriminals will have the exploit download the malware executable of their choice. Then, it's just a matter of using web tools to search around for vulnerable web servers in order to inject a malicious i-frame or script (SQL injection being very popular) that redirects the victim to the malicious web site that hosts the exploit kit. You may remember we discussed exploit kits in the Blade-Defender thread. For those who missed that, I posted a summary/description of some of the kits: http://www.wilderssecurity.com/showt...04#post1630504 As I pointed out, these types of attacks are really easy to prevent, since all of the exploits have one goal in mind: download a trojan executable. There are so many solutions these days to block this, so it's just a matter of getting the word out to all of your friends/acquaintances and help them set up suitable protection! ---- rich |
|
#13
|
||||
|
||||
|
Just to say thanks, Rmus, for the very instructive postings and thanks to CloneRanger for digging deep.
__________________
|
|
#14
|
||||
|
||||
|
@Rmus
Quote:
Glad you like it, and hope it proves very useful to you from now on I only discovered it by accident yesterday as i was searching for info etc on registr3red.com etcThey are still at it today with more live nasties, I DL'd 2 from slightly different www's exe.exe = update.exe = Trojan Bredolab Only 2 shows on VT for both = same nasty, different name. PEXK open and waiting Quote:
Yes indeed, and definately worth checking out for those that havn't Maybe it's a case of " all good things come to those that wait " Quote:
Yep, word up @Ocky Quote:
You're very welcome but Rmus is the expert, not me I just tinker here and there and do whatever i can Thanks for the Update:
__________________
. Malware = You don't scare me A different perspective https://rt.com - https://rt.com/on-air |
|
#15
|
|||
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
---- rich |
| « Previous Thread | Next Thread » |
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
|
|