Wilders Security Forums  

Go Back   Wilders Security Forums > Official BrightFort Forum > SpywareBlaster & Other Forum
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old May 16th, 2010, 02:23 PM
scorpiotiger scorpiotiger is offline
Infrequent Poster
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 1
Question is SPYWAREGUARD no longer around? or has your page been hijacked?

I was checking my son's laptop after he was telling me it was really slow, and noticed that spywareguard was on his startup list. I checked it out on the bleepingcomputer startup list, and they have it pointing to (notice .net):

http://www.wilderssecurity.net/spywareguard.html

but, when I go there, it gives me a 404 (file not found on server).

So, looking around, I see wilderssecurity.com, and see some familiar programs in the forum. So, I go to (notice .com this time)

http://www.wilderssecurity.com/spywareguard.html

and it seems to have an announcement of a "new address" for Spywareguard, and redirects to the .net address.

Is this legit, and Spywareguard is now defunct? or has this page on your site been hijacked?

I would like to know whether to keep or remove Spywareguard from the startuplist.
  #2  
Old May 16th, 2010, 02:44 PM
ronjor's Avatar
ronjor ronjor is offline
Global Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 46,214
Default Re: is SPYWAREGUARD no longer around? or has your page been hijacked?

Hello scorpiotiger,

Correct link. --> http://www.javacoolsoftware.com/spyw....html#Overview
Quote:
A Work-in-Progress While we do strive to fix any compatibility problems that may arise, we cannot guarantee that it will not conflict with other security software on your machine. SpywareGuard has also not been tested with Windows Vista.

If you are worried about potential compatibility issues with SpywareGuard, we recommend that you download SpywareBlaster instead - our no-nonsense, polished anti-spyware solution.
  #3  
Old May 16th, 2010, 05:36 PM
LowWaterMark LowWaterMark is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: New England
Posts: 15,525
Default Re: is SPYWAREGUARD no longer around? or has your page been hijacked?

Just a comment about the wilderssecurity.net domain and the old references to SpywareGuard here on this domain...

Long ago, the Javacool Software products were hosted on the wilderssecurity.net domain. When javacoolsoftware.com was fully launched, the content was removed from wilderssecurity.net and a simple redirect was put up from the main page to the new Javacool Software domain.

If you access the main webpage at wilderssecurity.net, it redirects to the main page at javacoolsoftware.com

http://www.wilderssecurity.net

However, that is pretty much all that is at the wilderssecurity.net domain. The spywareguard.html page here on this domain was obsoleted in March 2003, and I had no idea anyone was still accessing it. Since there appears to be a chance that people might, I have updated it to redirect correctly to the SpywareGuard page at Javacool Software.

http://www.wilderssecurity.com/spywareguard.html
 

Wilders Security Forums > Official BrightFort Forum > SpywareBlaster & Other Forum « Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Settings
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2002 - 2013, Wilders Security Forums