Wilders Security Forums  

Go Back   Wilders Security Forums > Security Products > other anti-malware software
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old June 30th, 2009, 10:29 AM
simisg's Avatar
simisg simisg is offline
Frequent Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 390
Default noscript has any connection with uniblue liutilities?

im asking because i dont trust uniblue.....
noscript advertise uniblue speedupmypc
  #2  
Old June 30th, 2009, 10:33 AM
StevieE9 StevieE9 is offline
Regular Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 139
Default Re: noscript has any connection with uniblue liutilities?

No.

NoScript is developed by Georgio Maoine - a very reputable guy - and his outfit 'InformAction' here:
http://noscript.net/

They do take paid adverts from Uniblue - but then so do many 100s of 1000s of other reputable websites.
Whatever you think about Uniblue (and I think most of their software is not something I would use) they *are* reputable.

I can think of nothing more than paranoia behind your mistrust.
Virtually every developer of so-called 'optimization' tools are just doing it for the money. Almost all of them are a waste of money and plenty of good freeware tools will do all they do safely, and many of the 'shareware' tools are positively dangerous in the wrong (inexperienced) hands.
But the free market exists in IT just like everywhere else. That's life.
__________________
http://medialens.org
  #3  
Old June 30th, 2009, 11:20 AM
simisg's Avatar
simisg simisg is offline
Frequent Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 390
Default Re: noscript has any connection with uniblue liutilities?

ok if its only an advertise because im paranoid...
  #4  
Old June 30th, 2009, 11:35 AM
StevieE9 StevieE9 is offline
Regular Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 139
Default Re: noscript has any connection with uniblue liutilities?

Quote:
Originally Posted by simisg
ok if its only an advertise because im paranoid...

Yes, it is.
You could actually discover that very easily for yourself by just looking at the NoScript web page. You wouldn't even need to look at the web page source code to see it is an advert.
Paranoia is very dangerous - it exists usually in the realm of ignorance and failure to research carefully.
Just like the issue of Comodo and SSL certificates and the fact that all developers that create https sites will seek to purchase a certificate showing the site is secure, in a very *narrow* sense. It doesn't mean the site is good. It does *not* mean that.
And that is why Verisign and GoDaddy issue 1000s of percentage points more SSL certificates to dodgy sites than Comodo or anyone else.
It is a 'free market' just like every other part of commercial life is.
__________________
http://medialens.org
  #5  
Old July 1st, 2009, 01:05 AM
ypestis
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: noscript has any connection with uniblue liutilities?

Quote:
Originally Posted by StevieE9
Yes, it is.
You could actually discover that very easily for yourself by just looking at the NoScript web page. You wouldn't even need to look at the web page source code to see it is an advert.
Paranoia is very dangerous - it exists usually in the realm of ignorance and failure to research carefully.
Just like the issue of Comodo and SSL certificates and the fact that all developers that create https sites will seek to purchase a certificate showing the site is secure, in a very *narrow* sense. It doesn't mean the site is good. It does *not* mean that.
And that is why Verisign and GoDaddy issue 1000s of percentage points more SSL certificates to dodgy sites than Comodo or anyone else.
It is a 'free market' just like every other part of commercial life is.


Gotcha.
Any heads up on the beta of the new GDIS*?
(GoDaddy Internet Security) Suite?

To paraphrase Mrs Gump, "Paranoid is as Paranoid does".

For what its worth I would not care if No-Script was a wholly owned subsidiary of Al-Qaeda Inc,if it were not such a headache to use.

Last edited by ypestis : July 1st, 2009 at 01:13 AM.
 

Wilders Security Forums > Security Products > other anti-malware software « Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Settings
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2002 - 2013, Wilders Security Forums