NOD32 2.7 detection rate compared to 3.0/4.0

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by gugarci, Mar 30, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. gugarci

gugarci Registered Member

I've been using NOD32 for about 2 years now. I'm currently using version 2.7. Never bother to update to 3.0 and now I see 4.0 has just been released. NOD32 will be expiring on 4/1 and I have not renewed my license yet.

I've been thinking of switching to Avast or Avira, but why fix something that isn't broken. So I'm leaning towards renewing since NOD since it hasn't let me down yet and works well on my PC. But my question is am i missing something in detection rate by using 2.7 as opposed to 3.0 or 4.0?

I know a lot of people still use and love 2.7. I also know that NOD 3.0 got an advance + rating in the Feb 09 AV Comparative report.
    http://www.av-comparatives.org/comparativesreviews/main-tests
    Would the 2.7 engine do as well or am putting myself at risk by using an older version of NOD32?
    Thanks.

2. gugarci

I'm now thinking of trying 3.0 since it's been out for a while and that's the version that has been tested lately by AV comparatives. I downloaded the installer last night but have not installed it yet. I will probably do it tonight. Hopefully all the bugs it had in the beginning have been worked out.

My biggest fear is that the engine in 2.7 might miss something that 3.0 will catch.

3. GrammatonCleric

GrammatonCleric Registered Member

4. rnfolsom

rnfolsom Registered Member

gugarci:

You might (or might not!) be interested in a related thread that I started: " Choice between NOD32 v3 versus v4," at https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=237468

But in your thread, the response by GrammatonCleric (immediately preceding the message I am now writing) is somewhat discouraging. The question is reasonable, and someone knowledgeable ought to answer it.