Help:Light protection for 512 Mb ram laptop

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by runoades, Mar 27, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. runoades

runoades Guest

I have laptop(amd sempron 3600 + 512 Mb ram) with windows xp home-sp3

Formatted just minute ago. Ready for action. Can you help me setup for light protection? o_O

Ps: I am behind of NAT/SPI Router. Finally I am a student so i havent any money :D say me free software please. Thanx.

2. NoIos

NoIos Registered Member

I've done it before (512 ram)...and seemed ok.
    Avira + Online Armor free.

Alternative way:
    Frequent backups ( images ) + no antivirus + Prevx Edge free + Online Armor + Sandboxie and Firefox + installed some on demand scanners like a-squared free, MBAM, SAS.

Alternative way:
    No antivirus + no firewall ( windows firewall enabled) + frequent backup images + sandboxie and firefox + great attention while surfing (+ forget warez downloads) + run only known applications (this setup does not offer outbound protection).

3. jmonge

jmonge Registered Member

for free you can use sandboxie or geswall or DSA(dynamic security agent)and malwarebytes free/superantispyware free:thumb:

4. Tony

Tony Registered Member

My son has a laptop (Amd Sempron 2800+ 512 mb ram)

It has the following....

A) Router
    B) Windows firewall for inbound
    C) DefenseWall containing all internet facing applications in stronger than limited user environment
    D)Avira free with following modifications
    - set check at writes only (no read and write)
    - increase the packed files control to 10 nested/deep and skip limitations on size or number)
    - set heuristics to HIGH of guard
    - set heuristics to low of scan

Kees1958 suggested this set up and i am very happy with it, and it runs very light.

It also has firefox web browser with extensions, WOT and adblock plus :thumb:

5. ThunderZ

ThunderZ Registered Member