the most effective privacy software?

Discussion in 'privacy technology' started by guest, Feb 15, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. guest

guest Guest

hi folks,
    i'm new here. i've used many privacy softwares, from eraser to tracks eraser, cyberscrub to windowwasher. but in the end i came to this conclusion. evidence eliminator (from robin hood software, i guess) is the best, the most effective one. on the other hand some security softwares say it's harmful. plus, it's hard to say that the company updates evidence eliminator. the plugins are way too old. so, what software other than evidence eliminator do you recommend? something as effective as it is, but also not dated. thanks.

2. emmpe

emmpe Registered Member

I'm no expert in these things, but for what it's worth: EE has a bad reputation. Whether it's justified or not I don't know. Personally I'm put off by their obnoxious marketing and their ridiculous pricing. I use R-Wipe&Clean to tidy up my HD, it's light on resources, offers a nice selection of algorithms from just zeroes to Gutman for the paranoid, handles several scheduled erasure tasks and has a reasonable price - about 29$ I think. I also have the Distrust add-on to Firefox along with the obvious FF settings, and use the free Eraser for routine deletion of files. Just for the hell of it I run Cryptoswap Guerilla as well. I feel quite safe, but then I'm not (currently) up to anything bad.

3. badjoey

badjoey Registered Member