![]() |
|
#1
|
|||
|
|||
Hi people :I just downloaded the free version of Process Guard - to try out before buying the full version. When I scanned the file with my AV, before installing, Norton told me that PG contained an infected spyware file - Ezula adware - and warned me to delete the whole file (which, incidentally, Norton was unable to do). I am kind of surprised, and haven't installed the program. Unless I missed something, I didn't see anywhere that the free version was adware... ?? Btw, I have both TDS and Port Explorer (registered) - more than happy with both ![]() |
|
#2
|
|||
|
|||
|
This is a false positive by Norton. It shows up on both the trial version and the licensed version of PG. This started a week or so again on an NAV definitions update. I see it on my licensed version and also Norton's failed to remove message. I added PG as an Exclude in NAV.
__________________
Fight Trojans with TrojanHunter V5.5.1003 (XP, Vista, Windows 7: 32-bit and 64-bit supported) |
|
#3
|
||||
|
||||
|
Hi Possum, Providing you downloaded from www.diamondcs.com.au you will be safe. DCS never have any sort of spyware in their products.
![]() *Edit by Jason - corrected URL*
__________________
"Education is not the filling of a pail, but the lighting of a fire" Pilli's website http://www.pilliwinks.net |
|
#4
|
||||
|
||||
|
possum, siliconman, it'd be very much appreciated if you contact Symantec about this false positive so that they can rectify the problem by finding a stronger signature to use for the Ezula detection. There is certainly no adware, spyware or anything of the sort in any of our software and Symantec can confirm that.
Thanks, Wayne
__________________
DiamondCS (Est. 1986) - Celebrating 20 Years ... Home of Port Explorer, ProcessGuard, and check out all our other freeware security tools! |
|
#5
|
|||
|
|||
|
will do...
![]()
__________________
Fight Trojans with TrojanHunter V5.5.1003 (XP, Vista, Windows 7: 32-bit and 64-bit supported) |
|
#6
|
|||
|
|||
Guys, yes, I sure downloaded from the official Diamond site - but I'm going to contact Symantec about the false alarm - and I'm also going to install PG Thanx for the replies. |
| « Previous Thread | Next Thread » |
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
|
|