Wilders Security Forums  

Go Back   Wilders Security Forums > Official ESET Support Forum > ESET Home Users Products Forum > ESET Smart Security
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old July 26th, 2008, 10:35 AM
Ryan Hayward Ryan Hayward is offline
Regular Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 57
Default Is It Safe To Allow This?

Application - host process for windows services
Remote computer - vip1.cdn.cachefly.net ( 205.234.175.175)
Remote port - 80 ( http)
Outbound attempt
  #2  
Old July 26th, 2008, 03:36 PM
ASpace
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Is It Safe To Allow This?

vip1.cdn.cachefly.net (205.234.175.175)
United States
Chicago
IL


You may not want to allow such a communication . "Host process for windows services" should be what ESS calls svchost.exe. You may also want to double check for malicious software
  #3  
Old July 26th, 2008, 03:47 PM
Bubba's Avatar
Bubba Bubba is offline
Global Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 11,279
Default Re: Is It Safe To Allow This?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan Hayward
vip1.cdn.cachefly.net ( 205.234.175.175)
Does Programmer's Heaven mean anything to you ?
  #4  
Old July 26th, 2008, 09:55 PM
KarlBeer KarlBeer is offline
Regular Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 50
Default Re: Is It Safe To Allow This?

You are on a UNI Server?

Dorm by chance?

ALSO, For future reference.
http://www.arin.net/whois/

Just put in the IP address.=)
  #5  
Old July 27th, 2008, 12:25 AM
Ryan Hayward Ryan Hayward is offline
Regular Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 57
Default Re: Is It Safe To Allow This?

Thanks for the replies, guys.
Scanned with both superantispyware and Eset & hasn't picked anything up, new computer too. I'm thinking if it is legit, may have to do with my new broadband with 3, which is roaming broadband.
However, my service is with an australian isp....
I'll send a email to my provider and see if they are using cachefly...
  #6  
Old July 27th, 2008, 06:30 PM
Atomic_Ed's Avatar
Atomic_Ed Atomic_Ed is offline
Frequent Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 389
Default Re: Is It Safe To Allow This?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/CacheFly

Looks like a media streaming service. Check and see it may be something your provider has installed with thier software as it says they offer services to smaller providers.
  #7  
Old July 29th, 2008, 06:07 AM
Ryan Hayward Ryan Hayward is offline
Regular Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 57
Default Re: Is It Safe To Allow This?

I recieved another unusual request today from 72.246.103.34
Again from another internet broadband performance and booster provider. ( AKAMI)
I think its pretty obvious these are legit.
 

Wilders Security Forums > Official ESET Support Forum > ESET Home Users Products Forum > ESET Smart Security « Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Settings
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2002 - 2013, Wilders Security Forums