Wilders Security Forums  

Go Back   Wilders Security Forums > Browser Hijacks and Spyware Problems > adware, spyware & hijack cleaning
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Spyware Cleaning Section Closed!!
Notice: The spyware cleaning (HijackThis) section is closed. Wilders Security no longer provides one on one spyware cleaning assistance. Please see this announcement for a list of websites that provide such services.
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old February 7th, 2004, 05:04 PM
gerardwil gerardwil is online now
Massive Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,507
Default akamai?????

Hi all,

When I look at "download.com" I also see this on my LAN monitor. Maybe stupid but i have no idea what this is.
Anybody does?

Regards,

Gerard

Date: 7-2-2004 22:53:53
Computer: GERARD
User: Gerard

Connections:
Remote Computer***************Remote IP Addr***Remote Port***Local IP Addr******Local Port***Status******Program
a194-109-217-167.deploy.akamaitechnologies.com***194.109.217.167***HTTP***192.168.122.254***4202******established***MyIE.exe
a194-109-217-167.deploy.akamaitechnologies.com***194.109.217.167***HTTP***192.168.122.254***4205******established***MyIE.exe
a194-109-217-167.deploy.akamaitechnologies.com***194.109.217.167***HTTP***192.168.122.254***4206******established***MyIE.exe
a194-109-217-167.deploy.akamaitechnologies.com***194.109.217.167***HTTP***192.168.122.254***4208******established***MyIE.exe
a194-109-217-167.deploy.akamaitechnologies.com***194.109.217.167***HTTP***192.168.122.254***4210******established***MyIE.exe
a194-109-217-167.deploy.akamaitechnologies.com***194.109.217.167***HTTP***192.168.122.254***4211******established***MyIE.exe
a194-109-217-167.deploy.akamaitechnologies.com***194.109.217.167***HTTP***192.168.122.254***4213******established***MyIE.exe
a194-109-217-167.deploy.akamaitechnologies.com***194.109.217.167***HTTP***192.168.122.254***4214******established***MyIE.exe
a194-109-217-167.deploy.akamaitechnologies.com***194.109.217.167***HTTP***192.168.122.254***4215******established***MyIE.exe
a194-109-217-167.deploy.akamaitechnologies.com***194.109.217.167***HTTP***192.168.122.254***4216******established***MyIE.exe
*** ***************************UDP***192.168.115.1******NTP*** ***svchost.exe
*** ***************************UDP***192.168.115.1******NetBIOS-NS*** ******System
*** ***************************UDP***192.168.115.1******NetBIOS-DGM*** ******System
*** ***************************UDP***192.168.115.1******1900*** *********svchost.exe
*** ***************************UDP***192.168.122.254***NTP*** *********svchost.exe
*** ***************************UDP***192.168.122.254***NetBIOS-NS*** ******System
*** ***************************UDP***192.168.122.254***NetBIOS-DGM*** ******System
*** ***************************UDP***192.168.122.254***1900*** *********svchost.exe
__________________
25 forum posting etiquette tips
  #2  
Old February 7th, 2004, 05:09 PM
Pieter_Arntz's Avatar
Pieter_Arntz Pieter_Arntz is offline
Spyware Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 12,716
Default Re:akamai?????

Hi gerardwil,

Akamai is what you might call "rent-a-server"

Quote:
Akamai - Hawaiian for intelligent, clever and cool - has more than 4,000 servers dispersed in 45 countries, each capable of passing on high-demand, high-bandwidth content for subscribing companies.

What you are seeing are probably the adds on the site that are fetched from one of their servers.

Regards,

Pieter
__________________
Regards,

Pieter
It´s nice to be important, but it´s more important to be nice.

It's human to make mistakes. It's even more so to blame the computer for it.
  #3  
Old February 7th, 2004, 05:11 PM
LowWaterMark LowWaterMark is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: New England
Posts: 15,522
Default Re:akamai?????

"akamai" is a large provider of localized mirroring on the Internet. They provide alternate download sites for many, many sites and companies. Even Microsoft uses akamai for Windows Update downloads. It is quite normal nowadays to be pulling content of some sort from akamai when you use various sites, especially big popular sites.

I just grabbed the first free download I could from download.com to reconfirm it and it actually came from here:

a204-60-219-169.deploy.akamaitechnologies.com:http
  #4  
Old February 7th, 2004, 05:32 PM
gerardwil gerardwil is online now
Massive Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,507
Default Re:akamai?????

Hi Pieter and LowWaterMark,

Many thanks for your answers.
I am learning here a lot.

Regards,

Gerard
__________________
25 forum posting etiquette tips
 

Wilders Security Forums > Browser Hijacks and Spyware Problems > adware, spyware & hijack cleaning « Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Settings
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2002 - 2013, Wilders Security Forums