![]() |
|
#1
|
|||
|
|||
|
Saw some of their stuff on youtube in action, is it a rogue? Doesn't seem to popular if it is a real anti-spyware software.
|
|
#2
|
|||
|
|||
|
Just read some stuff on siteadvisor's page on spyhunter, and it seems to have a rogue background, that's enough for me, topic could be closed.
|
|
#3
|
||||
|
||||
|
Check out spywarewarrior.com and see if it's listed in the rogue list.
Another list can be found at malwarebytes.org
__________________
I ♥ SandboxIE
|
|
#4
|
||||
|
||||
|
i could not find any thing on spyware worrier and it's not listed on majorgeeks.com put did find a page saying it was listed as malware buy spybot SD i think i would do more research on this before installing it and there are some users here on the forum that knows for sure what it is
__________________
A card~board~box with Microsoft written on it..
|
|
#5
|
||||
|
||||
|
Spyware Warrior has lots to say about SpyHunter...
Quote:
__________________
To err is human; to forgive, infrequent. - Franklin P. Adams Last edited by Bubba : May 26th, 2008 at 03:58 PM. Reason: added appropriate quote tags |
|
#6
|
|||
|
|||
|
Not listed at Malwarebytes, unless I'm blind.
http://www.malwarebytes.org/roguenet.php P.S.: the list of Malwarebytes is alphabetic, but not pure alphabetic. De-listed at Spyware Warrior is enough to me, not to use it.
__________________
ErikAlbert Security = WinXPproSP3 Firewall + Anti-Executable + DefenseWall HIPS * Recovery = ShadowProtect + FirstDefense-ISR Malware Survival Rate = 0.00%, but each malware has my sympathy.
|
|
#7
|
|||
|
|||
|
My vote is FAKE!
Here's why: 1 ... it is being promoted on sites which pretend to have connections with microsoft, e.g. hxxp://www.windowsvistaplace.com hxxp://www.xp-vista.com 2 ... it is being promoted by the use of the spammy phrase: brandX is the "latest counterfeit anti-spyware software that endangers the world of computers", where various malware names are used instead of 'brandX'. (947 google hits for that exact phrase!) 3 ... It is being promoted by posting spammy replies on help forums. e.g. hxxp://answers.yahoo.ca/question/index?qid=20080214041202AAPPaOX 4 ... other McAfee Site Advisor reviewers tag this and its promoters as bad news, see e.g. http://www.siteadvisor.com/sites/spy...821#post955821 5 ... credible customer feedback suggest this is rogue software: Please note that, in order to appear legitimate, this web site has created a customer feedback facility. It has been used! On the url given, scroll down and see that nobody is endorsing spyhunter: hxxp://www.windowsvistaplace.com/xp-antivirus-2008-removal-instructions-xp-antivirus-2008/spyware-removal 6 ... on the windowsvistaplace.com, the "Manual xp antivirus 2008 removal instructions" button takes you to: xp-vista.com, a McAfee Site Advisor RED site: http://www.siteadvisor.com/sites/xp-...pe=FF&aff_id=0 7 ... If it could really remove all the malware that it claims, it would have received top ratings at every respectable review site! I think that's enough reasons, don't you? |
|
#8
|
||||
|
||||
|
Read about it here http://antivirus.about.com/b/2004/05...-an-enigma.htm it doesn't sound reputable at all.
__________________
The Only Safe Computer Is Unplugged ![]() MEMBER ASAP since 2004 Alliance of Security Analysis Professionals |
|
#9
|
|||
|
|||
|
all i can say to you all is keep as far away from this spyhunter spyware as you can. it is unlegit it is spyware in spyware it is dangerous and always will be. if you install this crap you will be kicking youself for ages as it installs memwatcher and other rogue stuff and should be terminated from all live websites. it was a rogue program before and it still is. if you already have it remove and shread it till it vanishes from your pc compleatly.
|
| « Previous Thread | Next Thread » |
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
|
|