Backup strategy with DVD

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by phil.brady, Nov 20, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. phil.brady

phil.brady Registered Member

I have just installed True Image 9.0 Home (updated to 3677). I'm running on XP home SP2 with a single SATA 120Gb disk.

I want to store my backups well away from the computer on DVD – in a safe, a friend's house, anywhere but on a spinning disk attached to the computer holding the primary copy. I worked in IT for too long to think that a real solution.

A full TI backup .tib file of my system partition will currently fit on one DVD but that situation will not last long. Similarly, my documents with a growing photo collection will soon exceed the 4.7Gb limit too.

I am currently backing up to .tib files on a spare partition on my disk then copying the full and differential archives to DVD+RW with Nero. Those disks, together with a fresh recovery CD (tested - seems to work!) are then stored well away from my system.

I gather that this version of Acronis should write the DVD disks reliably now, but there seem to be suggestions that there are severe difficulties of restoring with frequent disk swapping if you have full plus differential. Would someone put that in perspective please? Are we talking of just a few swaps or hundreds?

What is my best strategy for archiving to DVD?

Sorry if this has been 'done to death' already but I've not found it.

Thanks
    Phil B

2. seekforever

seekforever Registered Member

IMO, the number of swaps depends on the size of the archive or in other words, how many DVDs are used to contain it and the fragmentation of the HD when the archive was created.

TI may burn directly to DVD but it burns at full speed. Many people feel there is better reliability when the burn speed is reduced to half of the drives maximum rating or the disks maximum rating. You can control this with Nero etc but not TI.