Kaspersky Beta Products - safe to use for home pcs?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by epv888, Oct 3, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. epv888

epv888 Registered Member

Hi guyz,

How u all doin? ...

I'm a newbie here and would like to know if you think it's safe to download and use kaspersky beta products as a free solid antivirus protection for home PCs?

Thanks! :)

2. bigc73542

bigc73542 Retired Moderator

As long as you do remember that they are still in the Beta stage of developement.

3. btman

btman Registered Member

there on Pre TR now and there have been lots so it must be somewhat stable... But personally I do not use them because generally there is a new one every 1-4 days. Test at your own free will

4. Mele20

Mele20 Former Poster

You don't have to install every new build. You can stay with a build that works well for you. Eventually, you may have to move to a newer build because the beta key will expire. I have the paid version of KAV 2006 but I am using an older beta build instead with a beta key because it has a new tab that I really needed.

If you want KAV free though I would suggest AVS from AOL. For me though on my older 98SE box where I have installed it, the registration is rejected by KAV servers so its runs great and is very light for 98SE but I can't get new definitions because I can't register it. I have contacted AOL and got one email that was not helpful and no more replies. However, most folks get it to work just fine without any need to contact AOL support. So, you might consider it. It is KAV 2006 with a few missing features.

5. Peter2150

Peter2150 Global Moderator

If you want a free AV, there are many good ones. Don't use any beta unless you have a good backup and disaster recovery plan in place. At any given time, any given beta can be a disaster. That is the point of the beta, testing.