Can't uninstall firefox & thunderbird

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by Berrystorm, Jul 15, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Berrystorm

Berrystorm Registered Member

Hello everyone
    I'm a newbie

I use firefox beta and tried to uninstall firefox 1.5 but the add/remove window freezes for as long as possible. This has happened before I downloaded the beta version. When I tried to uninstall thunderbird the same thing happened. Whats the deal mozilla feels that it is so good it becomes stuck to your pc?

I'd like to know how can I uninstall firefox.

Also I'm in the process of cleaning my pc from spyware, keyloggers, infections and whatever else that had my pc moving at a snails pace. I purchased spydoctor and registry mechanic I would like to know what more should I do to protect my computer.

I posted this on another board with almost the identical format as this and they ignored my post, I hope things are different here.

Help please

2. benderr2001

benderr2001 Registered Member

Berrystorm,

I can't claim to have in depth knowledge of Firefox and/or Thunderbird but wanted to share my own approach to a similar problem I had as you might benefit from it as well:

I had Firefox beta installed, wanted to uninstall it and then install FF 1.5. My problems began with not having an entry for the beta under the Add/Remove Programs applet to it! I also have to add that I am not shy of manipulating the registry directly and probably caused the situation myself by "cleaning up".
    When I checked under "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall" I found remnants of he beta uninstaller, copied the value and ran it.
    Then I deleted the folder (here c:\program files\mozilla firefox) and all its subfolders.

After reboot I was able to install 1.5.0.4 successfully.

Good luck and please post your results back to this forum even if it shouldn't have worked for you.

Regards,
    Roland

3. kdm31091