The Right Balance Of Security Software

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by TerryWood, Jul 13, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TerryWood

TerryWood Registered Member

I hope this is the correct forum in which to address this question.

1600ghz Athlon 512 gb DDR Win XPSP2

Firefox Opera & Thunderbird

I am not an expert and have put together security software not out of logic but "on the hoof", mainly by reading good reports.

I am now finding some slowing effects on my system. I therefore wish to rationalise my list of software on the following bases

1) If there is duplication

2) If there are more effective products out there

3) If for a particular duty the software I have is a "resource hog"

This is where I need your help and suggestions.

My software is as follows:

Avast 4.7 Home A/V

Comodo Personal Firewall (latest beta version)

GESWALL

DropMyRights

Windows Defender

Win Patrol

Process Guard

Spybot Search & Destroy

AdAware

Ewido On demand scanner only

Spyware Blaster

Could forum members make some suggestions on those programs that I could dispense with against the criteria I defined earlier. Generally speaking I would prefer freeware.

Many thanks for all your help

Terry

2. TairikuOkami

TairikuOkami Registered Member

I would really sugest to remove this weak software: AdAware & Windows Defender.
    SpywareTerminator is not the best realtime AS, but it is better than previous 2 together.
    You can also use SuperAntispyware (AS) as on demand along with Ewido (more AntiTrojan).

3. Mrkvonic

Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

Hello,
    First, on demand programs do not really hurt.
    Second, in your place I would remove:
    GESWALL - it's an application firewall and you use PG.
    Winpatrol - you don't need it for the same reason, you use PG.
    Windows Defender - just useless.
    The others take no brunt on your cpu while not running.
    Mrk

4. WSFuser

WSFuser Registered Member