help, MBR clarification, PLEASE

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by aoz, May 5, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. aoz

aoz Registered Member

to all,
    re: MBR

I just downloaded 9.3567 home version.

I have drive, with partitions C:, D:, E:.

I want to just back up partition C:, BUT include the MBR.

When I just click on C: to backup, the checkmark disappears from DISK ! box, but it stays green.

IS the MBR backed up with a SINGLE partition, so that I could restore it later, along with partition C:,

OR, do I havge to back up ALL of c: d: E:, to get the MBR backed up?

I did a search of MBR, but it still did not clarify the BACKUP option here.

My search DID indicate that you can RESTORE the MBR separately.

thanks
    Nick

2. Larry M

Larry M Registered Member

Nick,

I'm too much of newbie here except to say you might find the discussion HERE helpful.

Larry

3. TheWeaz

TheWeaz Registered Member

"IS the MBR backed up with a SINGLE partition, so that I could restore it later, along with partition C:,"

Yes, it is.
    If you wish to verify this, step through the Restore Wizard and you will see both C and MBR as selections for restoration.

4. aoz

aoz Registered Member

larry,
    thanks for reply

weaz, just to clarify -
    If I do the IMAGE backup, and just select the C: partition;
    even though the DRIVE box is not checked, it is still backing up the MBR?

I am going to test this, on spare drive, and am building a boot disk now.

DOES it make any difference to run fom windows version or from boot version?
    thanks
    NIck

5. seekforever

seekforever Registered Member

In B3567 when you create a partition image the MBR is included. You don't see any reference to it until you do a restore then the box is there to tick if you want to restore it.

I haven't done it but what I understand is you have to treat it like a second partition to get it restored.

In other words: