Wilders Security Forums  

Go Back   Wilders Security Forums > Privacy Related Topics > privacy problems
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old September 28th, 2003, 09:00 PM
davewvu86 davewvu86 is offline
Infrequent Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3
Default www.passthison.com

So my brower got hijacked by passthison.com. I've never been to this site before. I'm assuming that this is probably from something I downloaded on Kazaa. This was pretty annoying. I finally fixed it...I think. Anyways, I'm very legitigious and am considering filing a small claims suit in a local court. As part of it, I have looked up all the corporate information for Passthison.com. Its registered to a company named Network Solutions Inc., according to www.whois.com. Here is the company's information according to lexis-nexis. I think I'm going to call tomorrow.
NETWORK SOLUTIONS INC
PO BOX 11
SPRINGDALE, AR 72765-0011 UNITED STATES
TEL: 479-750-3323
ABI-NO: 997209986

COUNTY: 05143 WASHINGTON

POPULATION: 25,000 - 49,999 BB

CARRIER-CODE: B001

PRI-SIC: 737904 COMPUTERS-NETWORKING

LOC-SALES: 1,000 - 499,999 AA

LOC-EMPLOYEES: 2

PAR-EMPLOYEES: UNKNOWN

BUSINESS-ORG: FIRM

EXECUTIVES: DEAN LOWMAN, OWNER

ADDRESS: 512 S PLEASANT ST
SPRINGDALE, AR 72764

AD-SIZE: REGULAR LISTING

CREDIT: UNKNOWN

LANGUAGE: ENGLISH

LOAD-DATE: June 23, 2003

  #2  
Old September 28th, 2003, 09:23 PM
davewvu86 davewvu86 is offline
Infrequent Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3
Default Re:www.passthison.com

Ok, so I searched around further for passthison.com. I found a 2001 news article about it which says that the sites creator is Sanford Wallace. Humm..so which direction to go in now?
  #3  
Old September 28th, 2003, 09:31 PM
davewvu86 davewvu86 is offline
Infrequent Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3
Default Re:www.passthison.com

so now, using whois.net I found a different registration for passthison.com
Registrant:
SmartBot.NET, Inc. - NO SPAM ALLOWED (PASSTHISON-DOM)
3 Cobblestone Court
Richboro, PA 18954
US

Domain Name: PASSTHISON.COM

Administrative Contact, Technical Contact:
Admin, Anti-Spam (SW10300) personal@SMARTBOTPRO.NET
SmartBot.Net, Inc. - ZERO TOLERANCE SPAM POLICY!
3 COBBLESTONE CT
RICHBORO, PA 18954-1374
US
215-953-7291 fax: 215-942-4338

Record expires on 23-Mar-2006.
Record created on 13-Sep-2002.
Database last updated on 28-Sep-2003 21:29:34 EDT.

Domain servers in listed order:

NS1.SMARTBOTPRO.NET 205.236.189.50
NS2.SMARTBOTPRO.NET 198.31.211.34
  #4  
Old September 28th, 2003, 10:25 PM
DolfTraanberg's Avatar
DolfTraanberg DolfTraanberg is offline
Frequent Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 676
Default Re:www.passthison.com

Quote:
quoting: davewvu86 link=board=21;threadid=14347;start=0#msg90591 date=1064797223]
I'm very legitigious and am considering filing a small claims suit in a local court.
hmmm, good idea, but what would be the charge
Dolf
__________________
Idealism is what precedes experience; cynicism is what follows.
Of those who say nothing, few are silent.
  #5  
Old September 29th, 2003, 02:47 AM
Pieter_Arntz's Avatar
Pieter_Arntz Pieter_Arntz is offline
Spyware Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 12,716
Default Re:www.passthison.com

Hi davewvu86,

Read: http://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=13692;start=msg87178#msg87178

In the meantime this CLSID is being blocked by default in SpywareBlaster.

Regards,

Pieter
__________________
Regards,

Pieter
It´s nice to be important, but it´s more important to be nice.

It's human to make mistakes. It's even more so to blame the computer for it.
  #6  
Old October 1st, 2003, 05:23 AM
Rickster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re:www.passthison.com

Not only what's the charge (or grounds), but whose responsible, Kazza too? Then you'd have to file in their jurisdiciton, which can get pricey, To top it all off, you have to "prove actual injury or economic loss" to recover a dime in a civil suit. Annoyance, frustration or inconvenience aren't enough. So don't waste your time and energy unless you can document economic loss (i.e., loss of income) because of it.

Good Luck, Rick
 

Wilders Security Forums > Privacy Related Topics > privacy problems « Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Settings
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2002 - 2013, Wilders Security Forums