![]() |
|
#1
|
||||
|
||||
|
I hope it's not too late to expect some assistance here in this forum.
I just did a scan with avast and was told that a trojan horse was found: Win32:SdBot-2325 [Trj]. What startles me is that the file in question is: "Program Files\TDS3\xDynamic\TDS.fps\DCSFPS13.bak". While I have been using TDS3 on two other pc, this particular pc only ever had the trial version. It is not heavily used on the net and I am wondering if this is not a fp. Anyone still out there dealing with TDS3 issues? |
|
#2
|
||||
|
||||
|
Hi beethoven,
Quote:
![]() HTH Pilli
__________________
"Education is not the filling of a pail, but the lighting of a fire" Pilli's website http://www.pilliwinks.net |
|
#3
|
||||
|
||||
|
If that is the only alarm it is a bit strange. That folder contains copies or critical system files from which they are replaced in case of missing or damaged files. So the original should (have been)/be alarmed on too.
If you still have the file check it another time at one of the online file scanners. "fps" does not stand for "false positives" !
__________________
Jooske "o_o" |
|
#4
|
||||
|
||||
|
Quote:
Avast had moved the file and changed the file ext, so it took me a while to locate it again. Once I did, the alert came back immediately. I then moved the file to quarantine (or the chest) as Avast calls it. Neither Jotti or kapersky online raised any alarm when submitting it. Quote:
Nope, it was just this one file. Quote:
![]() |
|
#5
|
||||
|
||||
|
That fps folder.
Submit the file to Gavin on the submit address in my signature for second opinion, with a link to this thread. Was it the first time avast alarmed on it? Submit a copy to avast and tell them it looks like a false positive, since it is a copy of the original file elsewhere on your system on which is no alarm. Maybe avast alarms as it is in another location then the windows or system(32) directory where it probably belongs. But you want that file there since it enables TDS to take good care for it. Look in the file properties: was it modified recently? If not, it must be a false positive.
__________________
Jooske "o_o" |
|
#6
|
|||
|
|||
|
In TDS-3 fps means File Protection System.
See the subject File Protection System in the Help-file. Quote:
|
|
#7
|
||||
|
||||
|
Quote:
done Quote:
Yes and only for the bak file within the TDS folder. As to a submission to Avast - will do so once I have figured out their submission address. Thanks Jooske and also thanks Fanj for the explanation of fps - it's always good to learn something new, though in this case I was merely talking about a false positive without reference to the file protection system. ![]() |
|
#8
|
||||
|
||||
|
Oh.. its UNRAR.DLL ? 31kb and if you send it to my profile email I can verify that
Most likely a recent trojan has unpack routines built in or even uses a free RAR library which was then badly selected as detection signatures. Signatures are best selected from unique code not things like this ![]() |
|
#9
|
|||
|
|||
|
Was there any feedback on this? I have the same report and also wanted to know if it was a false positive. In my case it first appeared in unzip.dll.
|
|
#10
|
||||
|
||||
|
Yes.. that would be a DEFINITE false alarm ! report to vendor so they can fix it
|
|
#11
|
||||
|
||||
|
Great - thanks Gavin
|
|
#12
|
|||
|
|||
|
Thank you
|
| « Previous Thread | Next Thread » |
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
|
|