Wilders Security Forums  

Go Back   Wilders Security Forums > Archived Forums > Closed Sub-Forums > Archived ESET Support Forums > NOD32 version 2 Forum
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old September 6th, 2006, 03:10 PM
edwardk edwardk is offline
Infrequent Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 36
Default CheapDown.com is a reseller?

Hello ladies and gents

I friend sent me the following link to purchase NOD32 for 29.99USD

http://www.cheapdown.com/product_inf...roducts_id=845

Are these guys registered resellers? Anyone know them?
  #2  
Old September 6th, 2006, 04:50 PM
Brian N's Avatar
Brian N Brian N is offline
Very Frequent Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,150
Default Re: CheapDown.com is a reseller?

hehe, huh? http://www.cheapdown.com/product_inf...roducts_id=938
Oh nevermind, they removed Peter's request ^^
__________________
AntiVir PremiumFD-ISR ProFirefox 3Jetico 2 Firewall
ASAP Member

Last edited by Brian N : September 6th, 2006 at 09:24 PM.
  #3  
Old September 6th, 2006, 08:24 PM
agoretsky's Avatar
agoretsky agoretsky is offline
Eset Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 3,919
Default Re: CheapDown.com is a reseller?

Hello,

I do not believe CheapDown.Com is an ESET Authorized Reseller. At least, I can find no record of them being one. It is possible they are a new reseller signed up under a distributor and the requisite paperwork has not reached our webmaster yet.

There is also the question of locale: I did not see any contact information on their web site which mentioned where they are located, and the whois information for their web site provides what appear to be an incomplete address in Tehran, Iran and a phone number for San Francisco, California in the US.

I have asked our U.S. and International sales staff about this and as soon as I hear more I will let you know.

If anyone has placed a purchase through this company for NOD32, can they please send the serial number or username to me via Private Message? With that information I can quickly look up the order information to determine who it was placed through.

Regards,

Aryeh Goretsky
__________________
Resources: ESET · blog · documentation · FAQs · knowledge base · news · RSS · signature updates · support · Threat Center · @ESETNA (Twitter) · YouTube: ESETKnowledgebase · VirusRadar
Fun Stuff: Facebook (global) · Facebook (US) · @ESET (Twitter) · YouTube: esetusa
  #4  
Old September 6th, 2006, 09:13 PM
webyourbusiness's Avatar
webyourbusiness webyourbusiness is offline
Very Frequent Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Throughout the USA and Canada
Posts: 2,584
Default Re: CheapDown.com is a reseller?

The whois information shows that the website is owned by someone in Tehran, Iran.
  #5  
Old September 7th, 2006, 11:52 AM
edwardk edwardk is offline
Infrequent Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 36
Default Re: CheapDown.com is a reseller?

It is interesting to see a software category called "Hacks and cracks"

If it is found that they are selling copied/cracked software, someone should report them to the appropriate authorities.

Last edited by edwardk : September 7th, 2006 at 12:01 PM.
  #6  
Old September 7th, 2006, 08:57 PM
agoretsky's Avatar
agoretsky agoretsky is offline
Eset Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 3,919
Default Re: CheapDown.com is a reseller?

Hello,

Neither our U.S. or International sales teams have this company listed as an authorized reseller of ESET's software.

Regards,

Aryeh Goretsky
__________________
Resources: ESET · blog · documentation · FAQs · knowledge base · news · RSS · signature updates · support · Threat Center · @ESETNA (Twitter) · YouTube: ESETKnowledgebase · VirusRadar
Fun Stuff: Facebook (global) · Facebook (US) · @ESET (Twitter) · YouTube: esetusa
  #7  
Old September 8th, 2006, 02:46 PM
Firecat's Avatar
Firecat Firecat is offline
Incredibly Massive Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The land of no identity :D
Posts: 7,676
Default Re: CheapDown.com is a reseller?

Quote:
Originally Posted by agoretsky
Hello,

Neither our U.S. or International sales teams have this company listed as an authorized reseller of ESET's software.

Regards,

Aryeh Goretsky
Then wouldn't it be in the best of Eset's interests to stop CheapDown from selling NOD32?

I mean, there are still many people who have no idea whether CheapDown is an authorised reseller or not. For that reason, they can get misled..
__________________
Last edited by Radu : Today, at 5:32 AM. Reason: Found new malicious code

  #8  
Old September 8th, 2006, 10:27 PM
agoretsky's Avatar
agoretsky agoretsky is offline
Eset Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 3,919
Default Re: CheapDown.com is a reseller?

Hello,

The matter is being looked into.

Regards,

Aryeh Goretsky
__________________
Resources: ESET · blog · documentation · FAQs · knowledge base · news · RSS · signature updates · support · Threat Center · @ESETNA (Twitter) · YouTube: ESETKnowledgebase · VirusRadar
Fun Stuff: Facebook (global) · Facebook (US) · @ESET (Twitter) · YouTube: esetusa
  #9  
Old September 8th, 2006, 11:00 PM
iceni60 iceni60 is offline
( ^o^)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 5,116
Default Re: CheapDown.com is a reseller?

hi maybe this will help
http://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=146201
__________________
musical savant
-http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=liprsDr8GrE-
-http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qpIigV7-kJk-
  #10  
Old September 9th, 2006, 12:39 AM
Hazeleyze
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: CheapDown.com is a reseller?

He's selling Microsoft Malicious Software Removal Tool 1.2 for $29.95. Isn't this the same one that comes out with the updates every month for free?

http://www.cheapdown.com/product_inf...roducts_id=192
 

Wilders Security Forums > Archived Forums > Closed Sub-Forums > Archived ESET Support Forums > NOD32 version 2 Forum « Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Settings
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2002 - 2013, Wilders Security Forums