Wilders Security Forums  

Go Back   Wilders Security Forums > Official ESET Support Forum > ESET Home Users Products Forum > ESET NOD32 Antivirus
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old May 29th, 2012, 08:54 AM
TheWildInside TheWildInside is offline
Infrequent Poster
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: US
Posts: 3
Question "Potentially Dangerous Content" inquiry

I have now had my copy of ESET NOD32 (now version 5) for over a year .. first time I've ever paid for virus support without complaint! I've watched as it has caught and/or avoided more than a few nasty things (including more than one Trojan), so I trust it completely. Consequently, when I get a message from ESET like this: "Access to the web page was blocked by ESET NOD32 Antivirus. The web page is on the list of websites with potentially dangerous content." I tend to thankfully scramble away. However, when I received this message recently from a tutorial website offering polymer clay color palette recipes, I was a bit boggled. And I could find no additional information about what the potentially dangerous content might be. I'm tempted to override the warning, but I've spent my share of wasted hours cleaning crap off my laptop and am hesitant to do so .. but I would REALLY like to access these recipes. Is there a way to discover the reason behind this warning? There are a ton of these recipes .. I've tried accessing five or six and get the same message every time. Here's an example of one of URLs:

http://www.googleadservices.com/page...t=264&jca=4414

Any suggestions??
  #2  
Old May 29th, 2012, 09:45 AM
Marcos Marcos is offline
Eset Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,194
Default Re: "Potentially Dangerous Content" inquiry

What's being blocked is a website offering various potentially unwanted applications (there's a correlation with certain Firefox add-on).
  #3  
Old May 29th, 2012, 10:12 AM
TheWildInside TheWildInside is offline
Infrequent Poster
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: US
Posts: 3
Default Re: "Potentially Dangerous Content" inquiry

The link is supposedly to a pdf. I've downloaded tons of jewelry-related pdfs without being warned away. What application could it possibly refer to? And what correlation to Firefox add-ons might there be (I usually avoid add-ons)
  #4  
Old May 29th, 2012, 10:20 AM
King Grub's Avatar
King Grub King Grub is online now
Frequent Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 756
Default Re: "Potentially Dangerous Content" inquiry

It installs the Babylon toolbar. While not really malicious, it seems real intrusive and hard to get rid of.

Last edited by King Grub : May 29th, 2012 at 10:52 AM.
  #5  
Old May 29th, 2012, 10:23 AM
Marcos Marcos is offline
Eset Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,194
Default Re: "Potentially Dangerous Content" inquiry

It was discussed here for instance. As I wrote, they also advertise potentially unwanted applications on their website which a lot of our users don't want to install for a reason.
  #6  
Old May 29th, 2012, 10:32 AM
TheWildInside TheWildInside is offline
Infrequent Poster
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: US
Posts: 3
Default Re: "Potentially Dangerous Content" inquiry

THANK YOU! THAT'S the kind of information I was looking for!

.. and I will look elsewhere for color palettes!!
  #7  
Old November 2nd, 2012, 01:31 PM
urquan urquan is offline
Infrequent Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1
Default Re: "Potentially Dangerous Content" inquiry

About that list: "The web page is on the list of websites with potentially dangerous content."

How can a owner of such a website get it removed from that list, after removing all dangerous content?

Last edited by urquan : November 2nd, 2012 at 10:16 PM.
  #8  
Old November 5th, 2012, 09:52 PM
siljaline's Avatar
siljaline siljaline is offline
Security Expert
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Montréal, Canada
Posts: 4,141
Post Re: "Potentially Dangerous Content" inquiry

Most if not all of that content is blocked by my Hosts file, by using one, you would not be seeing those pages and | or page elements.
 

Wilders Security Forums > Official ESET Support Forum > ESET Home Users Products Forum > ESET NOD32 Antivirus « Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Settings
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2002 - 2013, Wilders Security Forums