I noticed that tipradar.com has been listing several promo's lately. One of which is a giveaway of Max Spyware Detector, here-
http://www.tipradar.com/giveaway-max...-licenses.html
I tried to go to the product's web page for more information and received a red WOT warning here-
http://www.mywot.com/en/scorecard/maxpcsecure.com and later found that maxpcsecure.com is also listed on hphosts
http://hosts-file.net/default.asp?s=...axpcsecure.com
and classified as FSA (sites engaged in the selling or distribution of bogus or fraudulent applications. This classification is assigned to site's being used for the distribution of "rogue" security or other such applications, for example: SpyFalcon, SpywareQuake, AdwareAlert etc.)
Oddly enough, none of the posts in the giveaway thread mention the negative ratings of maxpcsecure.com. So I made a post about the WOT and hphosts concerns but the post never made it past the site moderator. So I figured I would give readers here a heads up that any giveaways on tipradar.com should probably be investigated some before just thinking the promoted software is legit. Actually I'll just stay away from the site completely.