Wilders Security Forums  

Go Back   Wilders Security Forums > Other Security Topics > malware problems & news
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old July 5th, 2012, 05:10 PM
Kuroudo Akabane Kuroudo Akabane is offline
Infrequent Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 45
Question Is this thread a threat?

Hello, I found this "www.kabam.com/thirst-of-night" game and I noticed that after playing it the videos I'm watching on YouTube have started sounding very odd...

And since I did I started getting this "s.ytimg.com" pop-up on new videos.

The game site has similar "kabam1-a.akamaihd.net" and "assets.tp-cdn.com" pop-ups... the first time I restored my computer to a earlier point, and the second time I closed the website and restarted the computer both seem to have fixed the sound issues... but I'm still getting the pop-up on YouTube...

So do you think there is something wrong with the game or am I doing something wrong?
  #2  
Old July 6th, 2012, 03:51 AM
kjempen kjempen is offline
Frequent Poster
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 379
Default Re: Is this thread a threat?

I checked the thirst-of-night.html file in VirusTotal ~ VirusTotal Results Removed per Policy ~. So far, seems clean.

JSUnpack didn't find anything bad in the URL either. And nothing found in McAfee's SiteAdvisor.

It's not 100% sure it's a safe site, but nothing known malicious found so far.

Last edited by JRViejo : July 6th, 2012 at 12:39 PM. Reason: VT Results Link Removed - JRViejo
  #3  
Old July 6th, 2012, 12:36 PM
ShockWaves's Avatar
ShockWaves ShockWaves is offline
Infrequent Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 12
Default Re: Is this thread a threat?

"s.ytimg.com" is a server owned by YouTube that stores thumbnail images for videos. It is by no means a virus.

"kabam1-a.akamaihd.net" is an Akamai content delivery server, part of a huge, world-wide network to deliver content to end users. Companies pay Akamai to host their content because they have a massive infrastructure to deliver content anywhere on the planet.

"assets.tp-cdn.com" is an advertising server owned by TrialPay Inc. The company gears their services at game developers, software publishers, and online service providers. These ads are annoying, but the company does not distribute malware.

None of the "suspicious" URLs you mentioned are malicious, but the game site itself could be. However, as kjempen said, nothing known malicious has been found on it. It's probably safe.
  #4  
Old July 6th, 2012, 10:09 PM
Kuroudo Akabane Kuroudo Akabane is offline
Infrequent Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 45
Default Re: Is this thread a threat?

So what will hitting allow do to my computer?

Also in Firefox I have Do Not Track Plus and NoScript and I'm seeing a lot of sites being blocked but I don't know why they're even there, like: facebook.com, facebook.net, cloudfront.net, quantserve.com, google-analytics.com, and tp-cdn.com, etc.
  #5  
Old July 7th, 2012, 01:01 PM
ShockWaves's Avatar
ShockWaves ShockWaves is offline
Infrequent Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 12
Default Re: Is this thread a threat?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kuroudo Akabane
So what will hitting allow do to my computer?

Also in Firefox I have Do Not Track Plus and NoScript and I'm seeing a lot of sites being blocked but I don't know why they're even there, like: facebook.com, facebook.net, cloudfront.net, quantserve.com, google-analytics.com, and tp-cdn.com, etc.

Facebook.net & Facebook.com would be there if the site has any Facebook "like" buttons or "share" buttons on it.

google-analytics.com is a popular analytics system that webmasters use to see how many viewers their website is getting and what these viewers are doing on the site.

cloudfront.net is a content delivery network similar to Akamai, except it's owned by Amazon. Certainly not malware.

quantserve.com is a tracking system used by advertisers. It's not malware, but many people see it as an invasion of privacy.
  #6  
Old July 7th, 2012, 08:18 PM
Kuroudo Akabane Kuroudo Akabane is offline
Infrequent Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 45
Default Re: Is this thread a threat?

So why am I suddenly getting that flash setting pop-up when I watch videos on youtube and play that game?

I hadn't gotten those before?
  #7  
Old July 7th, 2012, 09:17 PM
SweX SweX is offline
Massive Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 3,615
Default Re: Is this thread a threat?

Problem with the latest Flash update maybe
Try to uninstall and re-install Flash to see if they go away.
__________________
OpenDNS ESET Smart Security
-A Heavy product is not the same as a Bloated product and vice versa-
  #8  
Old July 8th, 2012, 02:52 AM
stapp's Avatar
stapp stapp is offline
Very Frequent Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: England
Posts: 2,242
Default Re: Is this thread a threat?

Go into your machines control panel and click on the flash player settings panel.

I have 'ask me before allowing new sites to save info' selected so I get asked each time.

Check your settings to see if you have this selected and this may explain why you get asked each time Kuroudo.
  #9  
Old July 22nd, 2012, 10:18 AM
Kuroudo Akabane Kuroudo Akabane is offline
Infrequent Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 45
Default Re: Is this thread a threat?

I keep selecting the remember option, but I still get the pop-up anytime I watch something in flash.
 

Wilders Security Forums > Other Security Topics > malware problems & news « Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Settings
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2002 - 2013, Wilders Security Forums