Wilders Security Forums  

Go Back   Wilders Security Forums > Security Products > other anti-virus software
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old June 3rd, 2009, 07:57 AM
simisg's Avatar
simisg simisg is offline
Frequent Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 390
Default quick heal antivirus is rogue?

http://www.2-spyware.com/remove-quic...plus-2009.html
  #2  
Old June 3rd, 2009, 07:59 AM
sourav_gho sourav_gho is offline
Regular Poster
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 140
Default Re: quick heal antivirus is rogue?

Quote:
Originally Posted by simisg

No it is absolutely false claim,
Quickheal is a big MNC dedicated to security suite, they have Headquarter in Pune, India. And I am staying in Pune, so I know that
  #3  
Old June 3rd, 2009, 08:12 AM
LoneWolf's Avatar
LoneWolf LoneWolf is online now
Massive Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,130
Default Re: quick heal antivirus is rogue?

Quote:
Originally Posted by simisg

That site is questionable itself.
Bogus, IMO.
__________________
May you fly straight to heaven - but if you go to Hades - may Lethe run with Guinness
  #4  
Old June 3rd, 2009, 08:18 AM
simisg's Avatar
simisg simisg is offline
Frequent Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 390
Default Re: quick heal antivirus is rogue?

i find this site in google after i try to install quick heal but comodo and kaspersky found a trojan in quick heal

wot says 2-spyware.com is ok and clean
  #5  
Old June 3rd, 2009, 10:02 AM
icr icr is offline
Very Frequent Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,588
Default Re: quick heal antivirus is rogue?

Quote:
Originally Posted by simisg
i find this site in google after i try to install quick heal but comodo and kaspersky found a trojan in quick heal

wot says 2-spyware.com is ok and clean

Heres the official site
Quick Heal
It is an Antivirus Company from India (Pune) specified by sourav_gho
Have a look at Here

BTW from where did you download the setup file
__________________
01110010 01100101 01100111 01100001 01110010 01100100 01110011 00100000 01101001 01100011 01110010

--->My Blog<---
  #6  
Old June 3rd, 2009, 10:10 AM
sourav_gho sourav_gho is offline
Regular Poster
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 140
Default Re: quick heal antivirus is rogue?

Quote:
Originally Posted by icr
Heres the official site
Quick Heal
It is an Antivirus Company from India (Pune) specified by sourav_gho
Have a look at Here

BTW from where did you download the setup file

Here you are my friend.. here is the link for downloading quickheal:
http://www.quickheal.co.in/downloads.asp
  #7  
Old June 3rd, 2009, 11:24 AM
the Tester's Avatar
the Tester the Tester is offline
Very Frequent Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.
Posts: 2,855
Default Re: quick heal antivirus is rogue?

It looks to me like 2-spyware.com is basing that opinion on two false positives.
__________________
Windows 7 64 bit,Win Patrol Plus,Operamail, Bitdefender Plus AV 2013,gmx mail.
  #8  
Old June 3rd, 2009, 11:49 AM
simisg's Avatar
simisg simisg is offline
Frequent Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 390
Default Re: quick heal antivirus is rogue?

i have download from the same site you say http://www.quickheal.co.in/downloads.asp try to install this with comodo or kaspersky and you will see..........
and i know that quick heal is from an old respect company from India thats why ask?
  #9  
Old June 3rd, 2009, 11:57 AM
lordpake's Avatar
lordpake lordpake is offline
Frequent Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Helsinki ~ European Union
Posts: 563
Default Re: quick heal antivirus is rogue?

That's clearly a false positive. Trojan detection in other security software is not that uncommon, considering what that software usually does.

I take it you have notified for example Kaspersky about this detection?
  #10  
Old June 3rd, 2009, 12:09 PM
andyman35 andyman35 is offline
Very Frequent Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,270
Default Re: quick heal antivirus is rogue?

Quote:
Originally Posted by LoneWolf
That site is questionable itself.
Bogus, IMO.
2-spyware.com
It's a dubious site according to quite a few observers.
  #11  
Old June 3rd, 2009, 12:18 PM
andyman35 andyman35 is offline
Very Frequent Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,270
Default Re: quick heal antivirus is rogue?

Quote:
Originally Posted by icr
Heres the official site
Quick Heal
It is an Antivirus Company from India (Pune) specified by sourav_gho
Have a look at Here

BTW from where did you download the setup file
According to their site it's checkmark certified and also it has received VB100 awards,definitely not a rogue.
  #12  
Old June 3rd, 2009, 12:23 PM
Nebulus's Avatar
Nebulus Nebulus is offline
Frequent Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 800
Default Re: quick heal antivirus is rogue?

Let's analyze the site's statements:
Quote:
At first glance, it looks like a regular antivirus program, however the first sign of a fraud is that Quick Heal AntiVirus Plus 2009 installer downloaded from it's homepage contains a trojan virus.
This, in itself might be a problem, but it also can happen if the antivirus site was compromised by a hacker for instance. This is not a good thing for an antivirus company, but also it's not unheard of... Other well known antivirus sites were hacked, that doesn't mean their product were rogue software.

Quote:
What is more, this software is advertised on various untrusted and suspicious websites.
That proves nothing. What do they mean by suspicious and untrusted? No evidence is provided to support their accusations. Even more, what if i host a "suspicious" site (whatever that means), and I decide to advertise Quickheal to earn some extra cash? That means the product I support is malware/rogue? I don't think so.

Quote:
Don't download and install Quick Heal AntiVirus Plus 2009 onto your computer, because it might install trojan virus or download additional parasites like spyware and malware.
Another unsubstantiated accusation. No traffic logs, screenshots or other proof was provided, just an affirmation.
  #13  
Old June 3rd, 2009, 12:34 PM
andyman35 andyman35 is offline
Very Frequent Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,270
Default Re: quick heal antivirus is rogue?

It may well be listed on some dubious download sites but it's also on the likes of Techrepublic and download.com
  #14  
Old June 3rd, 2009, 03:19 PM
RejZoR's Avatar
RejZoR RejZoR is offline
Polymorphic Sheep
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Europe/Slovenia/Ljubljana
Posts: 5,365
Default Re: quick heal antivirus is rogue?

QuickHeal is a legit program. It may not be the best and its track record is crappy, but it's clearly not a rogue.
__________________
RejZoR's Little Secrets
  #15  
Old June 3rd, 2009, 08:13 PM
webster's Avatar
webster webster is offline
Frequent Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 285
Default Re: quick heal antivirus is rogue?

Quote:
Originally Posted by simisg

wot says 2-spyware.com is ok and clean

http://www.mywot.com/en/scorecard/2-spyware.com
__________________
Proud member of ASAP since 2005
  #16  
Old June 4th, 2009, 12:18 AM
quanzi_1507's Avatar
quanzi_1507 quanzi_1507 is offline
Frequent Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 276
Default Re: quick heal antivirus is rogue?

http://www.microsoft.com/windows/ant...indows-xp.aspx

There is no way MS would chose a rogue company as its antivirus provider.
  #17  
Old June 4th, 2009, 08:21 AM
andyman35 andyman35 is offline
Very Frequent Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,270
Default Re: quick heal antivirus is rogue?

Quote:
Originally Posted by quanzi_1507
http://www.microsoft.com/windows/ant...indows-xp.aspx

There is no way MS would chose a rogue company as its antivirus provider.
There are those that would say that MS itself is a rogue company.
  #18  
Old June 4th, 2009, 09:11 AM
m00nbl00d m00nbl00d is offline
Incredibly Massive Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6,453
Default Re: quick heal antivirus is rogue?

Quote:
Originally Posted by andyman35
There are those that would say that MS itself is a rogue company.

Tell me about it! They wanted me to pay for getting support, I should be getting for free, because they mess up things in their own system, which I paid for!
  #19  
Old June 5th, 2009, 03:27 AM
xpsunny xpsunny is offline
Regular Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 163
Default Re: quick heal antivirus is rogue?

Quote:
Originally Posted by simisg

At the end of the page...it says...

• Malwarebytes Anti Malware - Review - Download
• Malwarebytes Anti Malware - Review - Download
• Windows Defender - Review - Download


LOL, does WD and MB removes QH?
 

Wilders Security Forums > Security Products > other anti-virus software « Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Settings
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2002 - 2013, Wilders Security Forums