Ok , glad to see you here Patchou to chat with us about this.
The thing that bothers me is why you would chose to damage your program by partnering with a dangerous spyware company like Lop in the first place , is the money really that good ?
If anyone doesnt know how the bad lop.com spyware garbage is , a quick google search will soon give you tons of pages of victims and spyware warnings to go through.
Perhaps you can comment on this as well Patchou.
Heres some information all potential messenger plus users should be made aware of dug up by the
Webhelper , who does a great job warning us all about new spyware threats:
As I was going thru listings to generate a new file list, I found an enteresting thing about the messenger plus:
On the outside and the standard whois shows really nothing but it is the IP that gives them away.
msgplus.net:66.220.17.175, This is one of the NetRanges for C2Media aka lop.com.
Quote:
MsgPlus lop com
Quebec
Quebec, Quebec H0H0H0
Canada
Registered through: GoDaddy.com
Domain Name: MSGPLUS.NET
Created on: 14-Dec-02
Expires on: 14-Dec-05
Last Updated on: 15-May-03
Administrative Contact:
P., Cyril cyrilpaciullo@hotmail.com
Domain servers in listed order:
NS1.RACKSHACK.NET
NS2.RACKSHACK.NET
IP:
msgplus.net:66.220.17.175
CustName: C2 Media Ltd
Address: P.O. Box 1113
City: Shalimar
StateProv: FL
C2Media NetRange: 66.220.17.0 - 66.220.17.255
|
Also installs Ad Intelligence
http://www.msgpluszone.com/forums/mi...on=help&hid=10
Quote:
|
Messenger Plus! comes with an optional sponsor program. Installing it will help keep your favorite MSN Messenger add-on alive. If you do not wish to support the developer, you are allowed to refuse and proceed without installing the sponsor. PLEASE READ THIS END USER LICENSE AGREEMENT AND PRIVACY POLICY CAREFULLY AND MAKE SURE YOU UNDERSTAND THEM. THIS IS A CONTRACT AND BY INDICATING YOUR ACCEPTANCE, YOU ACCEPT ALL THE TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF THIS END USER LICENSE AGREEMENT AND THE APPLICABLE PRIVACY POLICY AND WILL BE PERMITTED TO DOWNLOAD THE SOFTWARE. IF YOU DO NOT ACCEPT THE TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF THIS END USER LICENSE AGREEMENT AND THE PRIVACY POLICY, YOU WILL NOT BE PERMITTED TO DOWNLOAD THE SOFTWARE. End User License Agreement This End User License Agreement ("Agreement") governs use of C2 Media Ltd.'s ("C2") software product known as lop.com
|
msgpluszone.com:66.98.252.17 (Support forum for msgplus)
What really links them also is the ending of the EULA:
Quote:
|
For general support please email support@lop.com. For comments or concerns about a website that is promoting this software please email affiliates@wrn.net with all pertinent information
|
wrn.net is the lop.com site for affiliate members.
Creators Profile:
http://msgplus.mybboard.com/member.p...profile&uid=10
patchou.com:66.98.198.21 (Creator of Msgplus)
So anyone who installs msgplus will get lopped!
Additional Reading:
http://www.geeknewz.com/board/index.php?showtopic=1413
Quote:
For anyone who thinks that just because PACIULLO CYRIL the creator of MSPLUS is affiliated with lop.com in the install of their hijacking adware/malware, I got a hot flash for you all.
He is more than just using them as an affiliate, he is a legal corporate partner with lop.com.
THAT MEANS HE IS ALSO RESPONSIBLE FOR WHAT ALL THEY DO!
Secure Software Inc. when I last checked the Florida state corporation database listed only Alex Shamash and his parnter Jason Lucas But as of today it has a third partner listed.
Want to take a guess?
PACIULLO CYRIL
http://www.sunbiz.org/scripts/cordet...RESOFTWARE&r5=
Officer/Director Detail
Name & Address Title
SHAMASH, ALEX
PO BOX 1113
SHALIMAR FL 32579 D
LUCAS, JASON
PO BOX 33O
SHALIMAR FL 32579 D
CYRIL, PACIULLO
105 PLACE DU COLLEGE #8
LONGUEUIL, QUEBEC 00 J4J-1-G3 CA D
|
I dont think I would go near any program that openly supports spyware , even if I did use MSN messenger , as that is like saying , "Hey its ok to hijack users computers"
.. but in the end people can always decide for themselves , as long as they dont forget not to install the sponsor program ..
An example of not selling out your users - We at Bluetack have been approached by various spyware companies to bundle their garbage into our programs , but we would never sell out our users and forum members in such a way.
In return our supporters keep us up and running month after month purely through their donations.