Question regarding Active @ Boot Disk Creator

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by icr, Jul 22, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    12,175
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    mantra, the Active@ app "Explore My Computer" can do that.


    Regarding auto-start. When you create the Active@ CD add your app files via the User's Files tab. For example, in Windows create a folder called "mantra". In mantra put snapshot.exe. In mantra put the commander folder. (I don't know the exe but let's say it is total.exe). Add the mantra folder via the User's Files tab.

    In Windows copy/paste this text into a new text document..

    Code:
    set target=BootDisk_Scripts\junk.txt
    for %%A in (C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z) do (
    if exist %%A:\%target% set drive=%%A: & goto :finish
    )
    :finish
    echo.
    %drive%
    CD User_Files\mantra
    start snapshot.exe
    CD commander
    start total.exe
    
    Rename this text document to auto.cmd

    Create a new text document and rename it to junk.txt (it is an empty document)

    Add auto.cmd and junk.txt to the build via the Startup Scripts tab.

    When the CD loads fully, Drive Snapshot and Total Commander will auto-start. Fingers crossed I made the correct script for you.
     
  2. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    6,195
    amazing

    so sadly

    thanks a lot Brian

    would be cool have an antivirus in the cd boot, woultn't it?

    it doesn 't not allow add the junk.txt to the startup script tab
    only auto.cmd
     
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2011
  3. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    12,175
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Re: amazing

    My apologies. I must have added junk.txt to the ISO (or the USB flash drive) manually after the ISO/USB had been created. OK, try this. Add junk.txt to the User's Files. Change the first line of the script to....

    Code:
    set target=User_Files\junk.txt
     
  4. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    12,175
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Re: amazing

    From the Active@ CD, click System, AntiVirus Setup Guide.
     
  5. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    6,195
    thanks

    i have never seen the antivirs setup guide
    and i have never know active has an antivirus

    you know what would i like to add

    a partition utility with gui that can resize partitions

    the active can create , delete , wipe but not resize

    don't know which software could i add

    thanks Brian , really i appreciate a lot you help

    i will try it again ,once i did with ultraiso , and the cd become non bootable o_O
     
  6. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    12,175
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Re: thanks

    mantra,

    Active@ contains Diskpart which can resize partitions. Unfortunately it is not GUI but it is easy to use from the command line.

    Do you have the latest version, 5.4.5?
     
  7. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    6,195
    Re: thanks

    yes
    i would like to have a gui to avoid mess up :)

    by the way , i 'm tring to add getdataback 4.22 or r-studio

    maybe add a reg file with the license should work ?
    i mean maybe i can import and run getdataback
    did you add such utility ?

    thanks again Brian
     
  8. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    12,175
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Re: thanks

    mantra,

    Sorry, I haven't used those apps.

    Is the script working for you?
     
  9. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    6,195
    Re: thanks

    nope
    but i will keep tring ;)
     
  10. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    12,175
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    You don't need UltraISO. Do all the building in Active@. Are you building a CD, ISO or USB flash drive?
     
  11. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    6,195
    i'm doing a boot cd
    but this scrpt should not be enought?

    thanks
     
  12. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    12,175
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    No, you need the full script. The first half of the script is for finding the drive letter of the Active@ CD or USB flash drive. The drive letter will be different in different computers. It depends on the number of optical drives and HD partitions.
     
  13. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    12,175
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    mantra,

    I guess you are having trouble building a CD or USB flash drive with the script. That same script is working on several of my systems. It works from CD, USB and HD partitions.

    Need some help?
     
  14. Scott W

    Scott W Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Posts:
    659
    Location:
    USA
    I'm reviving this thread because I just created the Active@ Boot Disk, adding IFW (as described in previous posts) and I've encountered some troublesome issues.

    First, I ran IFW to create a cold (full) image and other than giving me some 'static' about Phylock not being enabled it ran perfectly (after clicking on the Ignore box). Apparently, imagew.exe 'doesn't know' it's being used for cold-imaging so it thinks that without Phylock (or VSS) the integrity of the image will be compromised.

    Next, I tried to use IFW to create a differential (changes-only) cold-image, but to my dismay IFW kept insisting that it can't find the original (full) image?

    Finally (and most annoying), after running the Active@ Boot Disk on my WinXP system, upon restarting (into WinXP) I always encounter chkdsk issues (note: this only occurs with my WinXP system, not with my Vista sytem)!!!

    Scott
     
  15. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    12,175
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Mantra let me know his script is working.

    Scott, your explanation of the PHYLock "error" is correct.

    I'm not sure what is happening with your differential attempts. I can create differentials from the Active@ CD. You have to find the full backup yourself.

    Do you get chkdsk issues after booting from the Active@ CD even when you haven't run IFW?
     
  16. Scott W

    Scott W Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Posts:
    659
    Location:
    USA
    Brian, I did check the proper box 'telling' IFW where the full backup is located, but it reports that it can't find it. o_O


    Yes I do. The chkdsk problem isn't related to IFW; it's definitely due to booting-up my WinXP PC with Active@'s WinPE OS (as stated, this doesn't happen when running Active@ Boot Disk on my Vista PC). :doubt:

    Scott
     
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2011
  17. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    12,175
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Scott, I should have realized you are quite familiar with creating diffs. I've no idea why we differ.

    No ideas about chkdsk either.

    Maybe try Active@ on a USB flash drive and see if it behaves differently.

    Edit... Off topic but are you using BootIt for your dual boot?
     
  18. Scott W

    Scott W Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Posts:
    659
    Location:
    USA
    Brian, I have chkdsk issues using a CD or USB stick to boot Active@ (other than a faster boot with USB stick the media doesn't make any difference). I should qualify all of this by saying that chkdsk doesn't always kick-off automatically. But when I run it (manually) right after using Active@'s Boot Disk, I always have errors. Seems to me that the Active@ Boot Disk writes/changes registry entries!


    Brian, I don't dual-boot (I didn't mean to leave that impression). My wife has a Vista Desktop and I use an XP laptop. I have not had any reason to use BootIt for any purpose (so far).

    Scott
     
  19. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    12,175
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Scott, I'm stumped.
     
  20. Scott W

    Scott W Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Posts:
    659
    Location:
    USA
    Me too (on both the IFW diffs and Active@ issues)! :doubt:

    Thanks for trying to help.
     
  21. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    12,175
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Scott, I forgot to ask whether you can do diffs on your wife's computer from Active@?
     
  22. Scott W

    Scott W Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Posts:
    659
    Location:
    USA
    Haven't tried that yet, but will do so later on and post results...
     
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2011
  23. Scott W

    Scott W Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Posts:
    659
    Location:
    USA
    Brian,

    To answer your last question - IFW produces the very same diff-image problem on my wife's Vista PC as on my XP PC. :doubt:

    I select Backup Changes Only...
    Then when I specify where the backup is located IFW's explorer actually displays the drive and its folders. But when I select the folder containing the full backup, I get
    'Error: Unable to determine source drive. 0 possible devices found' (even though IFW displays the correct drive/folder)!

    Furthermore, I also get the very same Phylock Warning on both PCs (even after checking Disable Phylock)!! :doubt:
    'Unable to obtain lock on drive C:
    Please ensure that Phylock was installed correctly'
    . I then select Ignore and IFW gives me another 'Are you sure' warning!

    Brian, while IFW works flawlessly for hot-imaging, when attempting to use it as a portable app for cold-imaging (what it wasn't designed to do) IFW is quite annoying!!! :thumbd:

    Scott
     
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2011
  24. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    12,175
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Scott,

    The PHYLock issue will occur on all computers but you know why.

    I must apologise. I've been running Active@ from my HD using BIBM as the boot manager. Active@ boots much quicker from the HD and I use the same partition to do auto restores. It will let you create differential images.

    I wondered why you couldn't create diffs so I just tried it from an Active@ CD and received the same error you saw. So at least we are now on the same page.

    Active@ on the HD is the C: drive. On a CD it will not be the C: drive and maybe that is the reason. I'm guessing.
     
  25. Scott W

    Scott W Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Posts:
    659
    Location:
    USA
    Hi Brian,

    You would think that if you 'tell' IFW to disable Phylock it would get the message, but not. :rolleyes:

    Also, it doesn't matter whether I bootup with a WinPE CD or USB stick, the Phylock and diff-image issues persevere! I just have to come to grips with the fact that IFW isn't really a portable app (like Drive Snapshot) and therefore it 'hiccups' when we try to make it work like one!!!

    Scott
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.