PDA

View Full Version : New "Wilders" website


wherethebeef
August 18th, 2005, 02:03 PM
While testing browsers came upon this website:

hXXp://wildersecurity.com



notice that there is only one "S" in wildersecurity



for some reason I can not load that website with IE but by typing it in Firefox I can get there without any problem...........so what will you find at this website....this for starters:


Popular Categories
Trojan Remover Forums Spy Ware
Spyware Guard Blaster Computer Security
Forum Spybot Free Anti Virus
Trojan-spy.html.smitfraud.c Trojan Mru-blaster
Ad Aware Mru Blaster Killbox
Trojan-spy.html.smitfraud Virus Removal Smitfraud.c
Favorite Categories
Travel

* Airline tickets
* Hotels
* Car Rental
* Air Charter
* South Beach Hotels


Money Savers

* Online Banking
* Online Payment
* Debt Consolidation
* Foreclosures
* Free Credit Report


Gambling

* Free Casino Games
* Poker
* Texas Holdem
* Blackjack
* Casino

Services

* Car Insurance
* Mortgage
* Business Opportunities
* Life Insurance
* Work from Home


Leisure

* Music
* Dating
* Christian Singles
* Cell Phones
* Jewish Singles


Learn More

* Real Estate Training
* College
* Weight Loss
* Alcohol Treatment

ronjor
August 18th, 2005, 02:05 PM
Another url trick to get you to a dodgy site.

Bubba
August 18th, 2005, 02:11 PM
As Ron said....another scum bag site that has nothing to do with WildersSecurity....and similar to a recent thread we had here concerning a .net variant.

This thread---> wildersecurity.net?? (http://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=43694)

-{ Quote: "The bad guys out there have been registering common misspellings of popular URLs for years in hopes that they can get traffic from people's typing mistakes. There isn't anything that the owners of the real sites can do unless they choose to register every possible misspelling themselves as a form of protection. (Some companies do exactly that, and register every name they can that is even close to their main URL.)

In this case, you type "wildersecurity" in Google so it scans the list of possible matches, and since it has some wildersecurity.net references it provides that as a search result. It makes no judgement as to whether a site is good or bad, and it can not know that you intended one versus the other. However, as you pointed out it also gives you the "did you mean?" option just above the first search result.

If you mistype some really popular and large website names, you might be in for quite an eye full based on where you end up." }-

wherethebeef
August 18th, 2005, 02:11 PM
Yeah, real low-life way to trick people.......it looks like the website is actually :


<searchportal.information.com>

got to add that to the block list