View Full Version : What is Tech tv and their show screen savers trying to pull?
notageek
May 13th, 2003, 09:57 PM
I went to http://www.techtv.com/screensavers and it had a download box pop up. Can anyone explain this? The download box was foir some sort of ad. That's all I know. Maybe someone here can shed some light on this
Pieter_Arntz
May 14th, 2003, 02:28 AM
If it is any help at all, the image-link on the top of that page reading Screen Savers (which brings you to the same page) is blocked by AdShield. I couldn't get it to produce any download pop-ups. Maybe I'm too well-protected.
Regards,
Pieter
notageek
May 14th, 2003, 09:43 AM
I found out what the problem was. One of them ads on the page got through and tried to make me download something. LOL I find this odd though cuz Loe and Patrick always talk about them evil doings by people.
Pieter_Arntz
May 14th, 2003, 09:48 AM
It takes one to know one? ;) j/k
Maybe it is wise to alert them to the fact that one of their advertisers is pulling a stunt like that, they sometimes take things for granted.
Regards,
Pieter
notageek
May 14th, 2003, 09:52 AM
I emailed just emailed them before your last post. :) Thanks.
Detox
May 14th, 2003, 10:15 AM
update us if there's a response!
notageek
May 14th, 2003, 10:34 AM
It looks they they found who was doing that cuz I went there with adshield off and proxo bypassed and no download box popped up. The only thing that popped up was a thing for spybot. here's a pic of it.
vBulletin® Copyright ©2000-2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2002 - 2013, Wilders Security Forums