PDA

View Full Version : SpywareBlaster doesn't seem to catch this


micro7
May 10th, 2003, 10:36 PM
This website seems to have a probram that SB does not seem to catch.
http://61.129.75.229/~antimessage.com/
It reports to be an email, but it just shows up on the screen even when you don't have your email up and running. It even says "windows message" to give it an official look. It is more than aggrevating. Any chance of making this stop?? >:( :-X >:( :-X

Vampirefo
May 10th, 2003, 11:00 PM
Did you get this via e-mail? Or did you download it from a website? If you got it from e-mail, send me the e-mail, I will test it, and should be able to help you uninstall it, also what OS are you using.

vampirefo@hotmail.com

LowWaterMark
May 10th, 2003, 11:20 PM
Well, I went to the website linked above, and it is a site that provides the "service" (or perhaps just the software, I'm not sure - I didn't want to click too many of their links and they want to run ActiveX, as well) to send out massive numbers of Windows Messenger popups on systems across the Internet. So, I'm guessing the question is whether or not SpywareBlaster can block the Messenger pop-ups? (If that is it, than the answer is unfortunately, no. Windows Messenger pop-ups are not AvtiveX based.)

Or, is the question actually related to the specific ActiveX running on just that webpage? (Since I'm not likely to run the ActiveX control from that site, I can't tell what it does.)

micro7
May 10th, 2003, 11:20 PM
I am using XP.
This doesn't look like an email. It just shows up on the desktop. It can to it even when your email editor is not open. It shows on the desktop and is always on top until you click "OK".
I went to the website noted on the bottom of the message
http://61.129.75.229/~antimessage.com/
and read it was like an email mass mailer as I stated before. It doesn't seem to need anything loaded on the end machine, at least nothing I can find. I have been using this probram and also Spybot. Neither seem to find or see this nasty aggrevating thing.

javacool
May 10th, 2003, 11:20 PM
This sounds like it is not ActiveX-based spyware, but someone exploiting the Windows Messenger service (not to be confused with MSN Messenger).

See the following thread for more details, and how to prevent it: http://www.spywareinfoforum.com/forums/index.php?act=ST&f=24&t=5527&hl=messenger+service&s=30b544364379186652e5e738c9a1d931

Best regards,

-Javacool

micro7
May 11th, 2003, 07:28 PM
Thanks....
The forum link above had some very useful information and also a fix. It seems to have worked...at least for now.
Thanks again. :D ;D :D ;D